Results 1 to 12 of 12

Is is possable to upgrade to a 4.2.2 or een a 4.5 os from a ... RIM Handheld OS forum

  1. #1
    bboyPHOENIX's Avatar
    bboyPHOENIX no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    24aa5cd9
    Posts
    55

    4.2.2?

    Advertisement



    Is is possable to upgrade to a 4.2.2 or een a 4.5 os from a 4.2.1? Hmmm I tried to find the answers, but i come across alot of dead ends, or half information. Thanks.

  2. #2
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    yeah you should be able to upgrade no problem.
    If you want I upgraded a buddies 8100 to OS 4.5 I can try and E-mail you the file I used for him.
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  3. #3
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    or you can go here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=86
    and look up your new OS and download it from there.

    once you get it (if the new OS is not from your phone carrier) you will need to delete the vendor.xml file before DM will let you load it to your phone.
    this file is in:
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
    once deleted plug in your berry, and run DM.
    it will tell you you have new "CORE" apps that need updating. make sure you select "yes" for the backup option.
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  4. #4
    bboyPHOENIX's Avatar
    bboyPHOENIX no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    24aa5cd9
    Posts
    55
    Thnanks, i'll run it when I get home. Wish me luck! haha

  5. #5
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    Ah you won't need luck. Do what the computer says (and make a backup) you'll be all good!!


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    bboyPHOENIX's Avatar
    bboyPHOENIX no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    24aa5cd9
    Posts
    55
    SWEET so it worked, love it, had a few issues, the color ball won't change anymore, and for awhile my pearl kept turning off and back on, although it seems to be okay. But the internet is hella fast.

  7. #7
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    I'll check with my co-worker, he searched like mad to find a new color pearl program that would work on his new 4.5OS
    he did find something but I don't remember if he kept it.
    I'll post back tomorrow
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  8. #8
    bboyPHOENIX's Avatar
    bboyPHOENIX no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    24aa5cd9
    Posts
    55
    Yeah, I found it yesterday, bling ball, took a second to load, and bam, works great! Thanks L, Wouldn't have done it without ya!
    Last edited by bboyPHOENIX; 10-10-2008 at 02:41 PM. Reason: I can't spell to save my life.

  9. #9
    chicknician's Avatar
    chicknician no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    10
    have anyone tried this to 7130g????
    since the only themes that work for me are themes for 4.2.1 of 8100......
    can i upgrade at least the core and platform.....

  10. #10
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    Quote Originally Posted by chicknician View Post
    have anyone tried this to 7130g????
    since the only themes that work for me are themes for 4.2.1 of 8100......
    can i upgrade at least the core and platform.....



    actually the latest OS available to your phone (as far as I can tell) is OS 4.2.1.110
    if this is above what you have now I'd recommend upgrading. just follow that link I posted for pheonix
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  11. #11
    chicknician's Avatar
    chicknician no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    10
    based on the releases available i have the latest pack (4.2.1.169)

    but it seems that 7130g platform related hardware are same as 8100...

    if 8100 is capable of using the os 4.5 then 7130g is also capable of loading this os....

    by the way, since the upgrade to 4.2.1.169 release, i'd been using apps and themes intended for 8100 with 4.2.1 platform...

    then there is this update for 8100 v4.5.0.108

    and i want to try using this os for my 7130g.. even if just the os and core since i know the other differences between them like cam, etc....

    i'll post the result here after i tried...
    whatever it is....

  12. #12
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    cool I would really be interested in your results
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •