Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 68

Originally Posted by ashdub01 this didn't work for me either, I still couldn't find the ... BlackBerry Smartphones forum

  1. #46
    hammer3246's Avatar
    hammer3246 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by ashdub01 View Post
    this didn't work for me either, I still couldn't find the OS.
    I have the same issue, has anyone resolved this yet?

  2. #47
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Welcome to posting here on PinStack, hammer!

    What issue are you having?

  3. #48
    hammer3246's Avatar
    hammer3246 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6
    Hi,


    I upgraded my 8900 OS (rogers) , started having battery issues. I then did a restore and have been trying to upgrade to a different OS, however both DM and loader.exe will not recognize teh new OS. I have checked and rechecked and it is the only OS listed in the add/remove list in Vista.

    Cheers

  4. #49
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Are you sure the OS you have downloaded is for your 8900? Also, is the OS from Rogers or a different carrier? If it's from a different carrier, have you deleted the vendor.xml file?

  5. #50
    hammer3246's Avatar
    hammer3246 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6
    Yep, I did all the above.

  6. #51
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    And you have disconnected your internet connection prior to trying the upgrade?

  7. #52
    hammer3246's Avatar
    hammer3246 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6
    On the phone or computer?

  8. #53
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Computer, sorry.

  9. #54
    hammer3246's Avatar
    hammer3246 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6
    Disconnected the internet from my computer and disabled Wi-Fi on the phone just in case, still won't recognize the newer OS.

    BTW

    Thanks for all your aid so far.

  10. #55
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Is the OS you're trying to install a newer OS or older OS than the one currently on your device?

  11. #56
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    We can just cut to the chase here and wipe your device, then install the OS from scratch using BBSAK.

    Make a good backup with Desktop Manager. You can back up any 3rd party apps with BBSAK, then wipe the OS and reinstall.

  12. #57
    hammer3246's Avatar
    hammer3246 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6
    Will give BBSAK a try, thanks.

  13. #58
    ktorres1120's Avatar
    ktorres1120 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    505
    I just used BBSAK and did a backup of my 3rd party apps. Then wiped it clean and installed the new OS. Everything worked fine except now I'm trying to restore my apps and it says apps restored but they are not.
    BB BOLD 9000
    TMOBILE

  14. #59
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    Quote Originally Posted by ktorres1120 View Post
    I just used BBSAK and did a backup of my 3rd party apps. Then wiped it clean and installed the new OS. Everything worked fine except now I'm trying to restore my apps and it says apps restored but they are not.
    Are you restoring them with BBSAK or did you tell DM to load the apps again after install?
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  15. #60
    kmarshe's Avatar
    kmarshe no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    5
    thanks rogerG for the great tip! im about to try it out, i'll definately post a feedback on how it went.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •