Page 10 of 62 FirstFirst ... 56789101112131415 ... LastLast
Results 136 to 150 of 916
Like Tree6Likes

YOU ARE THE BEST!!!!! After hours of combing the net for a solution I found ... BlackBerry Smartphones forum

  1. #136
    harbinger125's Avatar
    harbinger125 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    Wooot!!!!!!!!!

    Advertisement



    YOU ARE THE BEST!!!!!
    After hours of combing the net for a solution I found you. Saved me a trip down warranty lane. XOXO!

  2. #137
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Pinstack must be pleased with so many new users.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #138
    AC30TB's Avatar
    AC30TB no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1
    Glad to have a fix. The fact that I spent an entire day with AT&T and RIM tech support telling me it was each other's fault is a joke! How can something so basic as tethering/mass storage functionality be crippled without either company knowing about it? Stuff like this makes me wary of relying on AT&T for business critical communications.

  4. #139
    Safiy's Avatar
    Safiy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    304d0ac5
    Posts
    720
    Quote Originally Posted by SVT Cobra View Post
    Pinstack must be pleased with so many new users.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    I was thinking the same thing
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #140
    Safiy's Avatar
    Safiy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    304d0ac5
    Posts
    720
    Quote Originally Posted by bunfire View Post
    how do i go about wipeing it?

    nvm found it.

    wiped it, still nothing.

    It just won't connect to computer, I'll probably have to buy a new usb because the computer don't recognize at all, I charges the device though don't know why it won't connect.
    make sure battery has a good charge (use wall charger) then try again. Nothing? Try a different USB port, cable and/or pc. Any number of issues could prevent the bb from connecting (corrupt drivers, bad usb cable, bad USB port on pc, etc). Also try wiggling/ holding the USB at different angles too, hopefully it's not but it could be the port on your phone is bad.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #141
    Rothing's Avatar
    Rothing no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1
    thx so much XD

  7. #142
    chiefvelo's Avatar
    chiefvelo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    Took me for ever to find this but it worked like a charm on a storm 9530 with .122. Thanks

  8. #143
    blooming's Avatar
    blooming no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2
    is the fix just for PC's? i cant get it to work with my mac!!

  9. #144
    tessitori's Avatar
    tessitori no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    271
    for some reason I cannot get it to work! I see the window with the command prompt I click on the file, I see it do its thing for about 1 second then nothing! I have connected the phone to the PC via 3 different USB ports! What else could I try?
    Also, when I connect the bold to the computer the phone is not recognized; it says a new device has been found but then when I look at my computer there is no phone there!
    Last edited by tessitori; 04-09-2009 at 02:06 PM.

  10. #145
    thekingpea's Avatar
    thekingpea no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    thank you!!!!

    Wow...I spent two full days dealing with AT&T and Rim trying to figure out what the heck was going on. I just bought my Bold 9000 and hadn't done anything to unlock it etc., though I did buy it refurbished.

    For those who have had trouble getting this to work, here's what i did:

    For me, it took a few times to get this to work right. With the files in the zip-genius folder they would not work, just popped up DOS screens for 1 second that did nothing. After i pulled those files on to my desktop (or anywhere else, i suppose, was in desperation mode at this point) I did hahanew and bb storage activation, it pulled up a DOS window into which I was prompted for my BB password, after entered, it uploaded the RAM image and said it was done (i made the mistake of doing this a few times as i couldn't believe it was only that 2 second process), but after that my BB shut down, and upon restart there it is - both my media card and main drive show up as seperate removable storage devices.

    Thank you so much for this, Rim is clueless about this problem, as is AT&T, its so bizarre that this hasn't been addressed elsewhere.

    You're a miracle worker, if you ever need some strategic comms consulting I'm happy to provide some free of charge.

  11. #146
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Yous should always unzip the files and then run them.
    Most zipped files are not meant to be run from inside the program that unzips them.
    Especially if there's more than 1 file!

  12. #147
    Springtime's Avatar
    Springtime no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    This caused my 8100 - to get a JVM Error

    Hi Safiy

    I had the problem that everyone else did on both my 8100 and 9500. I used your fix on the 9500 and it worked perfectly!!

    THen used it on my 8100 and it now permanently says "JVM Error 547" Flash Write Failed.

    It goes not further and allows lots of debugging info or a reset. Any idea what to do now?

  13. #148
    Safiy's Avatar
    Safiy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    304d0ac5
    Posts
    720
    try to wipe with jl cmdr and reinstall
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  14. #149
    cabu8803's Avatar
    cabu8803 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1

    Quick question

    First of all, thanks for the fix. After running the bat and the BB reboots, all is fine.

    However I still have an issue

    If I disconnect the BB, and connect it again, the drive letter appears on windows explorer, but I can not navugate into the card.

    I have to run the fix everytime I want windows to recognize the card in my BB 8100.

    Is there anything I am doing wrong?

    Thanks

  15. #150
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    If you have Vista, run it as administrator. If that doesn't work, use my fix posted earlier in this thread.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Page 10 of 62 FirstFirst ... 56789101112131415 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •