Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 78
Like Tree11Likes

Be sure to delete vendor.xml file if those listed are not your Official carrier. Follow ... BlackBerry Smartphones forum

  1. #1
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702

    Latest Official OS for Bold 9900 - As of September 2013

    Advertisement



    Be sure to delete vendor.xml file if those listed are not your Official carrier.
    Follow This thread for help upgrading OS.

    Always backup using DM prior to upgrade!


    If you are using an OS that is not from your carrier, then go to the Apploader folder and delete the Vendor.xml file. Go to: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader and delete the vendor.xml file.

    There may be another hidden Vendor.xml file. You can locate it by going to C:\User\<myUserName>\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML and delete the vendor.xml file from there.


    *UPDATE* 3/28/13 Blackberry Desktop version 7.1.0.41, adds support for Windows 8 OS and more. You can find the update by opening up BlackBerry Desktop Software and checking under "options"... "check for updates."

    Click on the carrier for the download link
    Last edited by pdxmatts; 09-25-2013 at 05:03 AM. Reason: updated

  2. #2
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702

  3. #3
    sinkers's Avatar
    sinkers no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    242
    Last edited by pdxmatts; 09-28-2011 at 10:05 PM. Reason: fixed link
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    OS upgrades are phone dependent NOT carrier dependent

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    So I read about the problems with GPS on the .353 release. Should I avoid this release?

  5. #5
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    IDK, I can't get the apploader to recognize it Read something about Windows 7 adding a second hidden vendor.xml file, but i can't find it. Trying to figure it out.

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Make sure you have hidden files selected when you're searching, Deb. It'll turn up.

  7. #7
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    You have it Deb? I've seen several OS's and unlike devices past, I have yet to upgrade my OS on the 9900. Used to be I couldn't wait for a new release!

  9. #9
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Haven't tried it yet. Still on TMO's .250

  10. #10
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9900; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.11+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/7.0.0.439 Mobile Safari/534.11+)

    Updated to .439 and its running smoothly so far. Seems snappier. Will report more after a few days.

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Loading as we speak!

  12. #12
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Dang. Looked over at my laptop to check the status of the update and the loader had crashed. Scared the bejeezers outta me thinking I had bricked my Bold! Thankfully, it hadn't gotten as far as wiping the OS, so everything came back up normal. I'm gonna try again later.

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Well, I just cannot get this OS to load. Tried on two different computers and something's amiss.

    Starts up just fine on my laptop, then crashes and aborts the load.

    Won't even start on my work PC.

    Must not be meant to be.

  14. #14
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Ugh. So I uninstalled the OS from my laptop, redownloaded it, then when I went to reinstall, there was some sort of problem with the installer executable and it would install at all.

    I'm redownloading as I type this. If it doesn't work this time, screw it. I'll just wait for the next release.

  15. #15
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Definitely doesn't like that executable file from the vendor.

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •