Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 58

Originally Posted by cherrichiodo below are instructions for unlocking a blackberry bold you must obtain ... BlackBerry Smartphones forum

  1. #31
    dlsolo's Avatar
    dlsolo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    457

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo View Post
    below are instructions for unlocking a blackberry bold

    you must obtain an unlock code from the carrier in which the device is branded or from a phone unlocking company/website

    1) insert sim
    2) power on device
    3) go to settings/advanced options/sim card
    4) type mepd (brings up addional 'hidden' menu)
    5) ...
    6) ...


    If you do the first 4 setups of this unlocking process, you will end up at a menu of items that have an enable or disabled status. If the Network or SIM is enabled, that means the security measures of the device have limited you those options, outside of your service providers features.

    Hope that helps.

  2. #32
    drpsychox's Avatar
    drpsychox no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3
    Which AT&T number do you call to get the unlock code by the way?

  3. #33
    dlsolo's Avatar
    dlsolo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    457
    I called 611 on the phone and got a customer service rep. I told her I wanted to unlock my Bold so I could use my company's overseas SIM card. About 5 minutes later, she came back and gave me the unlock number. I followed the instructions on the front page and now I've got an unlocked Bold.

  4. #34
    Frank613's Avatar
    Frank613 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    24ABA63F
    Posts
    55
    Ive done all of this hoastrouting all says tmo all of the seetings say tmo , but i try to use the browser i get an error that says {a communication failure has occured.please try again later. Can someone help out ?

    Thanks in advance
    8900 (16gb cARD)
    9000Bold 16GB Sd
    8220Flip{KickStart}
    8120
    8320(4gb SdCard)
    8100
    8700g
    7100i
    7510

    "Hi My Name Is Frank And Im A Crackberry Addict......(-__-)"

    pIN#24ABA63F

  5. #35
    nemo2xg's Avatar
    nemo2xg no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    58
    i want mine unlocked

  6. #36
    dlsolo's Avatar
    dlsolo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    457
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank613 View Post
    Ive done all of this hoastrouting all says tmo all of the seetings say tmo , but i try to use the browser i get an error that says {a communication failure has occured.please try again later. Can someone help out ?

    Thanks in advance
    I'm not following. The last time I checked, the host routing table had nothing to do with unlocking your BOLD.

    If your browser is not working, it must be due to your data connection on your Bold.

  7. #37
    dlsolo's Avatar
    dlsolo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    457
    Quote Originally Posted by nemo2xg View Post
    i want mine unlocked
    If you have ATT, call the customer service number and let them know that you plan on using your Blackberry out of the country and you would like to have it unlocked. Once you receive the unlock code, follow the first post in this thread. You'll be good to go afterwards.

  8. #38
    HyperM3's Avatar
    HyperM3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    451
    Ok, Im having an issue.

    I called ATT and got my unlock code. However, my code is apparently 1 digit too long. This is really annoying and I know Im not putting it in incorrectly. Do I not put in the first or last digit or one in between?

    EDIT: Haha, nevermind. The email was written with poor spacing and one number was put too close to the last digit.

  9. #39
    dlsolo's Avatar
    dlsolo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    457
    Glad to hear all went well. ATT is pretty cool with giving people the unlock code. I think it would have been better if ATT would have emailed me the phone, because we had to go over the code 3 times just to make sure I had copied it down right.

  10. #40
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    I ordered another Bold via 611, explained I would be using it in the UK (true) and they shipped it unlocked to me @ n/c.

  11. #41
    Croe's Avatar
    Croe no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    12
    Never had a problem getting any phone I have from ATT unlocked, but have been with them for years. You may also like this site www.unlocktotalk.com which gave me an unlock code for my Storm while I was on the phone with them....sent it to me by email and before I hung up had received it. Very quick and worked perfectly....now have my Storm on ATT too! Great CS there too.

    -B

  12. #42
    Dzill's Avatar
    Dzill no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    Question Unlocking a Blackberry from a Network

    I live in Venezuela and I want to get a Blackberry next month in my trip to US. I want to buy it from a network 'cause it's cheaper and then unlock it before coming back! Can I buy it with a service plan and then unlock it and cancel the service plan without having to pay more?

  13. #43
    gloamin's Avatar
    gloamin no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1
    I just called (within the last hour) AT&T and they gave me the unlock code and stayed with me on the phone until I had it unlocked. I was a former Verizon user and have had my Bold for 3 weeks. No sense in paying to have it unlocked when the carrier should do it for free.

  14. #44
    granwsmith's Avatar
    granwsmith no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    PIN/ID
    2093876C
    Posts
    76
    may seem like a dumb question to a lot of ya, but what are the advantages of having an "unlocked" BOLD? I've had my BOLD for bit now and can't possibly think of how it could be any better?

  15. #45
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Coupla things......unlocking your device allows it to be used on different carriers, which makes it more attractive to potential buyers should you ever want/need to sell it, and better for you if you ever decide to switch to another GSM carrier.
    Last edited by moderncowboy; 09-02-2009 at 11:17 PM. Reason: sp... :p

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •