Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
Like Tree1Likes

I am on Virgin mobile UK and I have noticed from the below link there ... BlackBerry Smartphones forum

  1. #1
    Villordsutch's Avatar
    Villordsutch no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PIN/ID
    2A2F75F4
    Posts
    238

    Can I update my own OS or do I need to wait for my Carrier to allow it.

    Advertisement



    I am on Virgin mobile UK and I have noticed from the below link there seems to be a more up to date version on my OS from the Curve 8520. I am currently using version 5.0.0.681 whilst at RIM it shows the latest available is v5.0.0.1682.

    Can I update my OS or do I have to wait for the carrier to issue it?

    https://swdownloads.blackberry.com/Downloads/browseSoftware.do;jsessionid=AA46AD6F984C0752AA784 036FCCE12A7.node1





  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    You can definitely update your OS without waiting for an official release from your carrier.

    Just download that OS, then go to c:\Program Files\Common Files\Research in Motion\AppLoader and delete the file at the bottom called "vendor"

    Then just connect your device and launch the Loader executable up towards the top of the same folder. Should be the 4th item down. Don't even need Desktop Manager.

  3. #3
    Villordsutch's Avatar
    Villordsutch no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PIN/ID
    2A2F75F4
    Posts
    238
    Thats excellent.

    Do I need to back anything up or will it just update the software and be done?

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    The loader software will automatically do a backup for you, but it certainly wouldn't hurt to do your own.

    You might have to re-register any apps you have that require registration codes.

  5. #5
    Villordsutch's Avatar
    Villordsutch no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PIN/ID
    2A2F75F4
    Posts
    238
    Excellent!


    Going to do it now

  6. #6
    Villordsutch's Avatar
    Villordsutch no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PIN/ID
    2A2F75F4
    Posts
    238
    Sweet Elune! I have just turned my computer desk upside down looking for my BB cable and then I remembered my eldest has took it away with her as she is having a sleep over until Wednesday/Thursday and took it to charge her BB. She is also 80 miles away.

    Note to self. Come back here on Thursday.

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Oy. Sorry you have to wait to update your device! Hope she remembers to bring the cable back with her!

  8. #8
    Villordsutch's Avatar
    Villordsutch no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PIN/ID
    2A2F75F4
    Posts
    238
    By the Gods don't say that!She'll ruddy walk back for it.

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    LOL! I'm sure she will. Might want to consider getting yourself a spare.

  10. #10
    Villordsutch's Avatar
    Villordsutch no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PIN/ID
    2A2F75F4
    Posts
    238
    Daughters home and I have my cable (YAY!) so I am about to update my software and the most recent seems to be the one below.

    However, reading this is 5.0.0.681 the most upto date software (which case I have it) or will it update to 5.0.0.1168. when I install.

    Software For BlackBerry® Curve™ 8520 smartphone
    BlackBerry Handheld Software v5.0.0.1168 (Multilanguage)

    Package Version: 5.0.0.1168
    Consisting of:
    • Applications: 5.0.0.681
    • Software Platform: 5.2.0.67
    • File name: 8520wifiM_PBr5.0.0_rel1168_PL5.2.0.67_A5.0.0.681_V irgin_Media.exe
    • File size: 121.57MB

  11. #11
    Villordsutch's Avatar
    Villordsutch no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PIN/ID
    2A2F75F4
    Posts
    238
    btw If the above is a "Yes download." Do I first need to run the download then delete Vendor followed by running the loader?

  12. #12
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    The 1168 is the Package Version. The actual OS is .681, which as you said, you already have, so you're up to date.

  13. #13
    Villordsutch's Avatar
    Villordsutch no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    PIN/ID
    2A2F75F4
    Posts
    238
    Thought as much. I have noticed elsewhere carriers like AT&T are far ahead of my current OS but I am unsure how this will effect my carrier if I down load their release?

  14. #14
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    No, you can load any OS from any carrier as long as it's for your device. Won't hurt anything. Just use the instructions I posted above.

  15. #15
    VZDubtk's Avatar
    VZDubtk no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,436
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 3.2.2; en-us; Xoom Build/HLK75D) AppleWebKit/534.13 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Safari/534.13)

    Oh definitely. Nothing like a carrier that has fallen behind with the OS upgrades.
    I Unlock All Mobile Devices, questions just ask

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •