Results 1 to 8 of 8

Ok is it just me or does the g1 not let u send a text/mms ... Android Smartphones forum

  1. #1
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370

    Unable to send a msg not on contact list - G1

    Advertisement



    Ok is it just me or does the g1 not let u send a text/mms to a phonr number not saved as "mobile" in the contact list? Cuz that's pretty retarded. I know you can do it from the.address book but if I go to messaging and then hit.compose it doesn't work unless its a mobile number. That's pretty retarded.

    It could just be me tho and right now I hope it is cuz wtf
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  2. #2
    wmscott2k's Avatar
    wmscott2k no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    15
    welcome to the world of g1 thats why i switch to a blackberry its first gen phone so it has it corks

  3. #3
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370
    Quote Originally Posted by wmscott2k View Post
    welcome to the world of g1 thats why i switch to a blackberry its first gen phone so it has it corks
    Oh of course I have my at&t bold on the side =) lol the g1 is just my side dish
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    rdills's Avatar
    rdills no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,255
    Quote Originally Posted by disturkis4u View Post
    Ok is it just me or does the g1 not let u send a text/mms to a phonr number not saved as "mobile" in the contact list? Cuz that's pretty retarded. I know you can do it from the.address book but if I go to messaging and then hit.compose it doesn't work unless its a mobile number. That's pretty retarded.

    It could just be me tho and right now I hope it is cuz wtf
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Well... you're right, ITS YOU! I just sent an sms to a number not in my phone book!OMG!

    "welcome to the world of the G1" Yeah, the world where people want to trash a GREAT device because of user error, and/or lack of research!!! lol
    You can't learn anything if you're talking!

  5. #5
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370
    Quote Originally Posted by rdills View Post
    Well... you're right, ITS YOU! I just sent an sms to a number not in my phone book!OMG!

    "welcome to the world of the G1" Yeah, the world where people want to trash a GREAT device because of user error, and/or lack of research!!! lol
    Ok first of all let's cut the attitude. Obviously I was seeking help hence the post. Second of all I didn't say I can't send it to a number not in the address book. I said if its not saved as a mobile. Maybe you misunderstood me.

    Let's say I have a contact with numbers labeled work, mobile, home etc, it only let's u send to the one listed mobile. When I start typing John for example and it brings down contacts, it only brings mobile numbers up. And if that contact has the number saved as work, it won't bring down the contact at all.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    rdills's Avatar
    rdills no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,255
    Quote Originally Posted by disturkis4u View Post
    Ok first of all let's cut the attitude. Obviously I was seeking help hence the post. Second of all I didn't say I can't send it to a number not in the address book. I said if its not saved as a mobile. Maybe you misunderstood me.

    Let's say I have a contact with numbers labeled work, mobile, home etc, it only let's u send to the one listed mobile. When I start typing John for example and it brings down contacts, it only brings mobile numbers up. And if that contact has the number saved as work, it won't bring down the contact at all.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~


    First of all, you asked "is it me" I answered you.No attitude on my part, its just when you call the G1 retarded because of your inexperience with it, thats not asking for help with a solution. Are you using the stock sms app? What firmware are on? For real help you might want to let those things be known.

    Now with the G1, you can add as many labels as you want, meaning multiple mobile, work, home, and email labels for 1 contact. just add the number to another mobile label. You can add as many as you want! Maybe I'm missing your point.(recap) Its retarded because you have to go into the phonebook to sms,etc, a contact number not labeled as mobile??, Is this a major issue?? Just add the contact as a shortcut on the homescreen. Your 1st post made it seem like you should get rid of such a piece of junk if it cant do that!
    And your Bold cant do half the stuff my G1 is doing! Oh but that Bold sure can read a spreadsheet!!!lmao Look ease up man. we both have opinions.
    You can't learn anything if you're talking!

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Ok folks please keep this thread civil and on topic...otherwise I will have to send LavaGirl in here to maintain order

    Thanks.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370
    Quote Originally Posted by rdills View Post
    First of all, you asked "is it me" I answered you.No attitude on my part, its just when you call the G1 retarded because of your inexperience with it, thats not asking for help with a solution. Are you using the stock sms app? What firmware are on? For real help you might want to let those things be known.

    Now with the G1, you can add as many labels as you want, meaning multiple mobile, work, home, and email labels for 1 contact. just add the number to another mobile label. You can add as many as you want! Maybe I'm missing your point.(recap) Its retarded because you have to go into the phonebook to sms,etc, a contact number not labeled as mobile??, Is this a major issue?? Just add the contact as a shortcut on the homescreen. Your 1st post made it seem like you should get rid of such a piece of junk if it cant do that!
    And your Bold cant do half the stuff my G1 is doing! Oh but that Bold sure can read a spreadsheet!!!lmao Look ease up man. we both have opinions.
    I transferred about 400 contacts from my bberry to the g1. That's why I was asking bc I don't have all of them saved as mobile. Some I had saved as work bc some people have cell numbers for work. I said the lack of ability to do it is retarded. Obv if I hated the phone that much I would not be using it. And its inconvenient for me to go and edit all of my contacts. I'm not here to argue with you or hear your opinions about what's a better device.

    Also if I want to message multiple recipients it would be easier to be able to type each of their names and have it pull up. Its also easier if I take a pic and what to share it and then type in the contacts name.

    I'm on android 1.5 and yes I have the stock messaging. I had chomp sms but removed it bc I didn't need the on-screen keyboard once I upgraded the firmware. And I don't use my bb for spreadsheets.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •