Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

I'm trying to partition my SD card to 3.. fat32, ext2, and linux swap... i'm ... Android Smartphones forum

  1. #1
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370

    Partitioning SD card help

    Advertisement



    I'm trying to partition my SD card to 3.. fat32, ext2, and linux swap...

    i'm doing it from a g1 console and i do the following as outlined..

    Example for 8GB card (this example plays it safe and will leave a small amount leftover regardless of the 8GB card)

    Reboot and enter recovery
    Enter console
    #parted /dev/block/mmcblk0
    #print (to verfiy we know what size card we are dealing with, the details should be straight forward)
    rm 1
    rm 2
    mkpartfs primary fat32 0 7200
    mkpartfs primary ext2 7200 7700
    mkpartfs primary linux-swap 7700 7732

    #print (to verify we have the 3 partitions)

    ....however...when i type in mkpartfs primary fat32 0 7200... it gives me the following error: "warning: you requested a partition from 0.00b to 7200mb. the closest location we can manage is 512B to 4194kb..is this still acceptable to you? "

    even if i say yes, it says "errorartition too big/small for a fat32 file system"

    what am i doing wrong? i have an 8gb memory card

  2. #2
    Mortgage_Man's Avatar
    Mortgage_Man no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    362
    I did mine all from info on xda and forget all of the steps...search for partitioning on the xda forums and you will find the answer.

    Sorry, but the Stacks is king on Blackberries only and slowly coming around to others. Eventually, we will have the knowledge here...
    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.5; en-us; T-Mobile G1 Build/CRC1) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

  3. #3
    srl7741's Avatar
    srl7741 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    6,359
    Wipe it first and start with a clean slate. Go back over those steps and see if your allowed to get past that message. Also try leaving out the FAT32 and try it. Lastly move the FAT32 to the last partition and try that also.

  4. #4
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370
    Yes I got so many different things from xda and it confused me all lol I'm not as knowledgeable on android =(
    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.5; en-us; T-Mobile myTouch 3G Build/COC10) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

  5. #5
    rdills's Avatar
    rdills no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,255
    You can't learn anything if you're talking!

  6. #6
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370
    that method uses amon ra's recovery image.. i have cyan's

  7. #7
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370
    you know what.. i must be on drugs... the method in my first post DOES work and it's really painless and quick.. HOWEVER.. i was typing rm1 instead of rm 1 which is why it wouldn't work... DUH.. i find this out now after a night's worth of sleep lol

    thanks to everyone who replied though =)

  8. #8
    WhitePearlPXL's Avatar
    WhitePearlPXL no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    642
    So the partitioning is all done on the device? No comp required? Pretty slick. Can't wait to get my 8gb. Cmon DHL! Hurry the heck up!
    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.5; en-us; T-Mobile G1 Build/CRC1) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

  9. #9
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370
    On the g1 yes through the console mode =) just type the commands in my first post. Very simple unless you can't read like me apparently lol

    Credit to xda devs of course
    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.5; en-us; T-Mobile myTouch 3G Build/COC10) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

  10. #10
    rdills's Avatar
    rdills no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,255
    Lol. Thats good you got it. So, have noticed a performance improvement? And do you have a class 6 sd card?
    Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20

  11. #11
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370
    Mine is class 4. Nothing really noticeable. It was quick before as well. I did it so I can try out a hero rom
    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.5; en-us; T-Mobile myTouch 3G Build/COC10) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

  12. #12
    Mortgage_Man's Avatar
    Mortgage_Man no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    362
    Mine is 4 gb class 6 and its awesome....100+ apps and counting with apps2sd and the swap file providing the speed along with the clocked processor.
    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.5; en-us; T-Mobile G1 Build/CRC1) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

  13. #13
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370
    Anything special i need to do to enable apps 2sd once I partition it?
    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.5; en-us; T-Mobile myTouch 3G Build/COC10) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

  14. #14
    Mortgage_Man's Avatar
    Mortgage_Man no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    362
    This is what I did a few months ago:

    http://forums.pinstack.com/showthrea...=106923&page=2

    ....look at the 4th or 5th post down on this page by me dated 6.12.09 and it gives the apps2sd2 instructions I used. I had no issues with that working.
    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.5; en-us; T-Mobile G1 Build/CRC1) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

  15. #15
    WhitePearlPXL's Avatar
    WhitePearlPXL no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    642
    So the apps just directly download, install, and launch from the sd? What about the apps I have now on the device?
    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.5; en-us; T-Mobile G1 Build/CRC1) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •