Hi folks , I'm a noob to the forum. I've got an att captivate with ... Android Smartphones forum

drewfs7270 no está en línea Stack level 1

Advertisement

Hi folks , I'm a noob to the forum. I've got an att captivate with 2.1, chomping at the bits for 2.2 or higher. Rooting sounds very tempting to me, but I'm afraid of messing up my phone and voiding my waranty. Anyone heard when this phone will get froyo?
    Thanks,
    drewfs7270

NickAC no está en línea Stack level 3
    They had actually posted the update yesterday - lots of sites reported it - then they pulled it. They keep saying "any day now" but they've been saying that for months. If you're really curious, head over to XDA Developers & learn about installing custom ROMs. It's daunting at first because there is so much to read - just go slowly, read the stickies, watch the videos, and you should be good! I haven't done a custom ROM yet but I have rooted. It's fairly easy, and it gives some nice extra abilities. e.g., you see how the bottom capacitive button lights go off after only a couple of seconds? Once you root, you can install an app that keeps them on as long as the screen is on.

bmay82 no está en línea Stack Professional
    I had a captivate for the last few months and custom rom is the way to go.... as NickAC said check out XDA Developers and go to the captivate developing section....I personally liked the Cognition Rom the best of the 4-5 roms I've used. It's really not that hard and doesnt take much time. Good luck and enjoy.
    Apple iPhone 5C 16gb (Green)

Follow Me on Twitter

rdills no está en línea Stack Professional
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Welcome to PinStack drewfs.

Listen to them ^^. Flash a custom ROM and end your suffering! Here's where you need to be.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=884364