Results 1 to 14 of 14

I need some help with this issue: I have tried, many times, each time without ... BlackBerry Multimedia forum

  1. #1
    InfinityPlayer's Avatar
    InfinityPlayer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    138

    Lightbulb Unable to copy 'down' music to media card

    Advertisement



    I need some help with this issue:

    I have tried, many times, each time without success to transfer music to my media card. I have done this before, with success, but not today. I even though that doing a 'wipe handheld' would help, but it didn't make any difference.

    Is there something i'm doing wrong, or that I need to change so that i can once again copy music from my PC to the card on my bb?

    When i plug the USB cable into the side like i did before, it gives the message,
    'The media cars is not accessible because Mass Storage Mode is currently in use.'

    How can it be in use when i'm not using my bb for anything else?

    I have version 4.2.2.14 of Blackberry Desktop Manager. I own a BB 8310 with a 1Gb media card.

  2. #2
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    make sure in your options it says mass mode enabled
    The BlackBerry Guru

    [x] My Minds Eye - Life Behind The Lens Of A BlackBerry
    [x] Pinstack Blog
    [x] Twitter

  3. #3
    InfinityPlayer's Avatar
    InfinityPlayer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    138

    Thx

    Jonnyxedge, Mass Storage is already activated before i plug the USB cable into the port on my BB

  4. #4
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~that is really odd then. Do you have the dm opened up and does it show that its connected. Try using the media manager or see if you can open up the media card from there

  5. #5
    InfinityPlayer's Avatar
    InfinityPlayer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    138
    i have opened up DM and it says the phone is connected and it shows the BB's pin number. The Media Manager is the program i've been using all along. It's the one that tells me i can't transfer the song.

    I have opened up the MM program, and it does let me view what songs i have on the card already, but it won't let me put any more on there.

    I don't understand why it won't let me put any more tracks on the card, it's only about half full.

  6. #6
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    That's really weird. I usually click on my computer and open the drive lsited as blackberry and open it that way and you can click and drag music that way. Give it a shot. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    InfinityPlayer's Avatar
    InfinityPlayer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    138
    I've tried that, and it says the directory or file cannot be created.

  8. #8
    mjwood0's Avatar
    mjwood0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    907
    It almost sounds like the card isn't being read correctly. I'd be tempted to try reformatting the card in your device and trying that. Or if you have access to a card reader, remove the card from the device and see if it can be read by an external card reader.
    As always, just my opinion...
    mjwood0 (at) pinstack (.) com
    Remove PTT | OS Upgrade

  9. #9
    jekko1's Avatar
    jekko1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    101
    I have had the same problem with my media card. When using Roxio it wont let me copy down to my 4gb card it will only copy down to my bb.

    The only way I have found around it is to take the 4gb card out of my bb and use one of those usb drives that it comes with to copy my music and movies onto the card.

    pain in the *** but it works.

  10. #10
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    Quote Originally Posted by mjwood0 View Post
    It almost sounds like the card isn't being read correctly. I'd be tempted to try reformatting the card in your device and trying that. Or if you have access to a card reader, remove the card from the device and see if it can be read by an external card reader.
    That's what I would do...I have a media card get junked-up w/ all the frags from unload/dwnld of my media. Reformat! (Back-up all items on desktop and reformat. Better re-formatting w/device...if this doesn't work, card-reader.....)

  11. #11
    InfinityPlayer's Avatar
    InfinityPlayer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    138

    Formatting SD Card

    Is it safe to format the SD card while it's still in the device? I don't have a card reader.

  12. #12
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    you want to format the card from the device you want to go in to options and then media card and bring up the menu and go to format card.

  13. #13
    InfinityPlayer's Avatar
    InfinityPlayer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    138
    The issue has now been resolved. I went to the store and they replaced the card under warranty replacement.So, to those that took their time to help me out, a big thank you goes out to you all.I also wish to close this request from any further suggestions.

  14. #14
    JuJuLam's Avatar
    JuJuLam no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13
    Did you use the Roxio media manager thingy?
    Hmm..

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •