Results 1 to 7 of 7

Ok I am a new BB user, recently switched over from the Blackjack. I am ... BlackBerry Multimedia forum

  1. #1
    liquidmerc's Avatar
    liquidmerc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3

    problems using BB pearl as modem

    Advertisement



    Ok I am a new BB user, recently switched over from the Blackjack. I am trying to configure the pearl as an independent modem, like I used to do with the Blackjack but keep getting an

    "Error 718: The connection was terminated because the remote computer did not respond in a timely manner. For further assistance, click More info or search Help and Support Center for this error message."

    I click the more info
    and it take me to the help center

    I have the unlimited data plan through ATT but no tethering plan... I am also running vista on my laptop and not XP, I had a problem with the blackjack at first to because the communications manager was not configured to work with vista

    was seeing if anybody running vista is having this same problem and if they have been able to fix it without going to a tethering plan

    thanks
    dave

  2. #2
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945

    Re: problems using BB pearl as modem

    the problem is more than likely with vista
    The BlackBerry Guru

    [x] My Minds Eye - Life Behind The Lens Of A BlackBerry
    [x] Pinstack Blog
    [x] Twitter

  3. #3
    tjoanne's Avatar
    tjoanne no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    304845CB
    Posts
    70

    Re: problems using BB pearl as modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i hope not, I got the same error!

  4. #4
    metraway's Avatar
    metraway no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: problems using BB pearl as modem

    I get that error now all of a sudden with XP

  5. #5
    tamaracr3's Avatar
    tamaracr3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: problems using BB pearl as modem

    Quote Originally Posted by liquidmerc View Post
    Ok I am a new BB user, recently switched over from the Blackjack. I am trying to configure the pearl as an independent modem, like I used to do with the Blackjack but keep getting an

    "Error 718: The connection was terminated because the remote computer did not respond in a timely manner. For further assistance, click More info or search Help and Support Center for this error message."

    I click the more info
    and it take me to the help center

    I have the unlimited data plan through ATT but no tethering plan... I am also running vista on my laptop and not XP, I had a problem with the blackjack at first to because the communications manager was not configured to work with vista

    was seeing if anybody running vista is having this same problem and if they have been able to fix it without going to a tethering plan

    thanks
    dave
    Yes I am having same problem.

  6. #6
    DriftorX's Avatar
    DriftorX no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me!!
    Posts
    466

    Re: problems using BB pearl as modem

    So far the problem with most in this case has been the Vista issue. There has been other post about this issue but there has not been an east remedy to this issue yet. My suggestion.. heh... go back to XP!

  7. #7
    xattica's Avatar
    xattica no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    GA
    Posts
    339

    Re: problems using BB pearl as modem

    I have the same problem on XP. With the Pearl and with the Curve. But when I use the ATT connection manager, the Curve can be connected.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •