Results 1 to 15 of 15

Is there a way I can get shows on my DVR to my BlackBerry? I ... BlackBerry Multimedia forum

  1. #1
    bayzbol44's Avatar
    bayzbol44 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    24320950
    Posts
    124

    DVR Content to Blackberry

    Advertisement



    Is there a way I can get shows on my DVR to my BlackBerry? I have Dish Network there is a USB slot in the back, but I don't know how I can move the information from there to a portable hard drive or my BB.

    Has anyone done anything like this before? If so, can you assist? I have a 8320 with 4.5, so I am hoping this is possible now.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    javajed's Avatar
    javajed no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    You would have to get them from the dvr to a computer so you could put them in the correct format and then place them on your sd card a tv capture card might be the way to go with this. that way you could play back your shows in to the computer.
    Just a guess. I would look for the shows you want in a torrent on the internet and download them it would be more simple.

  3. #3
    drdoom23's Avatar
    drdoom23 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    828
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~couldnt you put them on a memory stick save them there and then move to your computer and the format them to go on your BB

  4. #4
    bayzbol44's Avatar
    bayzbol44 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    24320950
    Posts
    124
    What would I use to change the format? Like Blackberry Video?

  5. #5
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    You want to convert it to 3gp. I saw somewhere on pinstack a 3gp video converter. I will see if I can find it. Give me a muinute.

    Quote Originally Posted by bayzbol44 View Post
    What would I use to change the format? Like Blackberry Video?

  6. #6
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    Here is one post that has several. I think some of them cost though. I will look for some free ones too. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    Forgot to post the link.

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ideo+converter

    Sorry can't edit from BB~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    This post has free ones in it http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ideo+converter

    Hope that helps
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    bayzbol44's Avatar
    bayzbol44 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    24320950
    Posts
    124
    Thanks, I appreciate it. I will have to see if I can hook up my portable hard drive to my DVR now.

  10. #10
    wyy183's Avatar
    wyy183 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    24AAA616
    Posts
    143
    According to DISH, any hard drive that you hook to the USB port on the DVR will be formatted before you can use it as a storage device on the system. Afterwards, if you hook it to a computer, it will not allow it to work unless it is reformatted. I have not tried this personally; but I have a 1TB drive on order that I am planning on trying it with when it comes in. So, it doesn't sound good at this point...

    David

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    drdoom23's Avatar
    drdoom23 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    828
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i found this for you check this page out it explains it pretty well

  12. #12
    drdoom23's Avatar
    drdoom23 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    828
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~sorry here's the link http://www.ktar.com/?nid=52&sid=698690

  13. #13
    bayzbol44's Avatar
    bayzbol44 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    24320950
    Posts
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by wyy183 View Post
    According to DISH, any hard drive that you hook to the USB port on the DVR will be formatted before you can use it as a storage device on the system. Afterwards, if you hook it to a computer, it will not allow it to work unless it is reformatted. I have not tried this personally; but I have a 1TB drive on order that I am planning on trying it with when it comes in. So, it doesn't sound good at this point...

    David

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    David, thanks. I actually looked at their site yesterday and what you stated is correct. They also charge about $40 to activate the feature of "activating" the USB option on your DVR.

    The site also says you can not have anything but DVR items on the hard drive, so the drive has to be dedicated strictly for Dish Network DVR content. You are right, it doesn't look good right now.

    Thanks Dr. Doom.

  14. #14
    dallas1125's Avatar
    dallas1125 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576E92F
    Posts
    1,610
    Quote Originally Posted by javajed View Post
    You would have to get them from the dvr to a computer so you could put them in the correct format and then place them on your sd card a tv capture card might be the way to go with this. that way you could play back your shows in to the computer.
    Just a guess. I would look for the shows you want in a torrent on the internet and download them it would be more simple.
    Don't use a torrent, its to dangerous. Just downloading one file downloads hundreds of viruses. Trust me, I know from experience.

  15. #15
    javajed's Avatar
    javajed no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    What you need is a TV Tuner Capture Card for you PC. This will allow you to connect the DVR to the PC. You can either connect it via Coaxial cable, RCA Audio and Video cable, or S-Video and RCA Audio Cable. Then you hit play on the DVR and Record on the TV Tuners Software. Then once it is completed (2 hour movie takes 2 hours to transfer) you can edit it .

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •