Results 1 to 11 of 11

Someone has given me a blackberry, 3.7 is the OS, i live in the uk ... Blackberry 7700/7200 & older forum

  1. #1
    Latin-Boi's Avatar
    Latin-Boi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    200FFFC2
    Posts
    4

    OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    Advertisement



    Someone has given me a blackberry, 3.7 is the OS, i live in the uk and use O2... can i upgrade it to OS 4? any ideas on how? thank you in advance!!!

  2. #2
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    I don't think the 7230 can upgrade to os 4.xx sorry

  3. #3
    Latin-Boi's Avatar
    Latin-Boi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    200FFFC2
    Posts
    4

    Re: OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    is there a higher os that it can upgrade to though, and can it still use the 4.1 desktop manager? or does it require a lower one too?, because everytime i try installing software it comes up with an unespected errror....

  4. #4
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~enter os 4.1 in the search field and look for another provider that has the 7230 and maybe you'll find another one with an os better than yours

  5. #5
    Treo700's Avatar
    Treo700 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    222

    Re: OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    You can't 1. there was no OS 4.1 created for 16MB devices. 2. 4.1 is to big to run on 16MB devices.

  6. #6
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    I believe that Desktop 4.1 will work with your device, with it's current OS. but I may be wrong. But do search for 4.0 and see if there is one availble for the 7230. There may not be one though.

    What software are you trying to install?


    Hope this helps.
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #7
    BBWrangler's Avatar
    BBWrangler no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    219DFD90
    Posts
    212

    Re: OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    4.0.2.56 is the highest you can run on a 7230. I've used the Cingular download on both Cingular and T-Mobile 7230's without any issues.

    And yes, it will work with Desktop Manager 4.1 even with 3.7 on it.

  8. #8
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    Thanks for the confirmation Wrangler.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  9. #9
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ hope this will help you in your search feel free to pin if there's anything pin:30102cf9

  10. #10
    Latin-Boi's Avatar
    Latin-Boi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    200FFFC2
    Posts
    4

    Re: OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    right, thats the thing you see... i have no browser on it.... and i cant seem to install one...

  11. #11
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: OS 4 on 7230 HOW?

    Well, that wasn't the question you asked. Have you activated a Blackberry Data Plan with your O2? Have you added your PIN/IMEI to your account? Have you registered your BB with the Network? Until all these have been done, you will not be able to get a browser service book. Nor will you have data services No BB Data Plan, No Data Services on your BB. It has nothing to do with the OS. And even if you could install a browser it wouldn't work with out being able to connect to the data network.

    Hope this helps.
    Rcbjr

    Quote Originally Posted by Latin-Boi
    Someone has given me a blackberry, 3.7 is the OS, i live in the uk and use O2... can i upgrade it to OS 4? any ideas on how? thank you in advance!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by Latin-Boi
    right, thats the thing you see... i have no browser on it.... and i cant seem to install one...
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •