Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

lewisnval, Welcome to PinStack. Have you tried the procedure in the link above (Post #13)? ... Blackberry 7700/7200 & older forum

  1. #16
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: JUM Error 102

    Advertisement



    lewisnval, Welcome to PinStack.

    Have you tried the procedure in the link above (Post #13)?

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  2. #17
    sisco213la's Avatar
    sisco213la no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: JUM Error 102

    Quote Originally Posted by serviceone
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i have profected the handheld wipe and restore so much I train service techs at NEXTEL service centers how to do it
    WELL CAN YOU TELL ME HOW TO FIX THE JUMERROR102

  3. #18
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re : JUM Error 102

    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  4. #19
    oldschooltech's Avatar
    oldschooltech no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: JUM Error 102

    Is this the same process for Blackberrys on a BES server

  5. #20
    oldschooltech's Avatar
    oldschooltech no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: JUM Error 102

    I just need to know if there is a different fix if you are using the Blackberry with a company BES

  6. #21
    OMMN2811's Avatar
    OMMN2811 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: JUM Error 102

    [quote=mrnoname;60791]Try this thread. I think it has what you need.

    do have JUM Error 102
    and i really do not know how to relaod the aplication.
    blackberry desktop manager do not connect to my BB....

    what do i need to do?

    thanks

  7. #22
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: JUM Error 102

    OMMN2811

    Sorry to see you are having problems. Basically, you need to do the following:

    1. Download and install your 8300 Device Software on your desktop. You will find links to various providers here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...f_21aug07.html

    If you wish you can install any providers 8300 Device Software and delete the vendor.alx file after installing.

    2. Follow the steps in this thread to reinstall your Device Software

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...uter_wont.html

    3. If the install fails repeatedly you may have to perform a complete wipe. In this case you can Download and install JL_CMDER on your desktop from this link and run it to wipe your device.
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...d=5&linkid=452

    Good luck and post back questions or problems!

    For more details you may want to review this:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com..._step_fix.html
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #23
    SussexDon1's Avatar
    SussexDon1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: JUM Error 102

    I tried loading Iskoot software (Skype) and after that my Blackberry crashed with JUM Error 102,
    I have Desktop Manager and under Application Loader I managed to "remove Iskoot" and then it reboots itself (after screen changes to a pic of BB synchonising with laptop) and then it goes back to same JUM error. I then tried to back up the data off the BB but under the Backup and Restore feature the "back up" feature is in light grey and doesnt respond and the Switch Device Wizard when used cant seem to find a connection with the BB it says "disconnected" at the bottom of desk top manager and yet it can see a listing of files through Apllication Loader??

    I want to know if I can back up the existing data somehow and then clear JUM error
    Thanks
    Mike

  9. #24
    thania's Avatar
    thania no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Hoopforever View Post
    I'm new tried to load eOffice Professional on my 7520 Blackberry, White screen wit JUM Error 102 Reset. What dose this mean and how do I reset my BB.

  10. #25
    mchuge's Avatar
    mchuge no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks for the great posts, it really helped me fix my technologically impared g/f's phone. saved her the cost of a new blackberry, and saved me a headache or two.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by mchuge View Post
    Thanks for the great posts, it really helped me fix my technologically impared g/f's phone. saved her the cost of a new blackberry, and saved me a headache or two.
    Very glad you found the info you needed! Welcome to Pinstack, hope to hear more from you - -

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •