Results 1 to 6 of 6

Is anyone able to get this to work? I'm tired of running to my friends ... Macs & MacBooks forum

  1. #1
    rileco's Avatar
    rileco no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    PIN/ID
    2038D3B9
    Posts
    23

    Thumbs down Virtual PC 7 running 2000 and BB Desktop...

    Advertisement



    Is anyone able to get this to work? I'm tired of running to my friends house in order to upload software that isn't OTA available. When I try on Virtual PC 7 it never recognizes the device. Any tips? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Treo700's Avatar
    Treo700 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    222

    Re: Virtual PC 7 running 2000 and BB Desktop...

    VPC uses a virtual USB port which doesn't recognize the COM connection of the BB or DTM. Try as you may it won't work. You need a PC or an Intel Mac with Boot Camp. I use my work notebook for OS updates, pretty much all software has an OTA install option.
    Quote Originally Posted by rileco
    Is anyone able to get this to work? I'm tired of running to my friends house in order to upload software that isn't OTA available. When I try on Virtual PC 7 it never recognizes the device. Any tips? Thanks!

  3. #3
    rileco's Avatar
    rileco no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    PIN/ID
    2038D3B9
    Posts
    23

    Re: Virtual PC 7 running 2000 and BB Desktop...

    Thanks for the info. Unfortunately a number of the apps I want don't have an OTA install option this tends to be the case with some of the more useful apps. If they did have an OTA option I wouldn't have posted this question.

  4. #4
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: Virtual PC 7 running 2000 and BB Desktop...

    That's right. Not all software has an OTA install option.

  5. #5
    Treo700's Avatar
    Treo700 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    222

    Re: Virtual PC 7 running 2000 and BB Desktop...

    In that case your going to have to fine a PC, work, bud, GF it's your only option at this point by the sounds of it?
    Quote Originally Posted by rileco
    Thanks for the info. Unfortunately a number of the apps I want don't have an OTA install option this tends to be the case with some of the more useful apps. If they did have an OTA option I wouldn't have posted this question.

  6. #6
    rileco's Avatar
    rileco no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    PIN/ID
    2038D3B9
    Posts
    23

    Re: Virtual PC 7 running 2000 and BB Desktop...

    Fortunately I have my friends PC as I stated and have been using just would have been nice to get it to work with VPC. I did get it working sort of work a couple of times but it would loose the connection in mid sync and not be able to get it back...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •