Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

I have a MacBook and realized that the installation CD for my 8130 is only ... Macs & MacBooks forum

  1. #1
    Stalinski's Avatar
    Stalinski no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    No love for Mac users?

    Advertisement



    I have a MacBook and realized that the installation CD for my 8130 is only supported by Windows. What's the deal? There's no way I can use my BlackBerry with my MacBook?

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Hi Stalin and welcome to PinStack.

    Although much more limited than the PC support, there is some Mac functionality...take a look here:


    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...pocketmac.html
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    mrmoe's Avatar
    mrmoe no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    367
    Intall Pocket Mac (Free) or The Missing Sync ($40)

  4. #4
    Stalinski's Avatar
    Stalinski no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    Word. I'll check it out. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Stalinski's Avatar
    Stalinski no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    Ok, done. Thanks for the link! Next question: how can I get an Mp3 onto my blackberry to set as a ringtone?

  6. #6
    bcbbanga4l's Avatar
    bcbbanga4l no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac973e
    Posts
    1,265
    i got a mac too ive been using pocket mac but am seriously thinking about the other option im worried that when the update comes out i wont be able to update.

  7. #7
    Yellowfin's Avatar
    Yellowfin no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    317F3C36
    Posts
    1,110
    Quote Originally Posted by Stalinski View Post
    Ok, done. Thanks for the link! Next question: how can I get an Mp3 onto my blackberry to set as a ringtone?
    Put it on the memory card via a card reader then go to your media folder and select it as the ringtone.

  8. #8
    Stalinski's Avatar
    Stalinski no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    A card reader? Is that something that will allow you to plug in a micro sd card to your computer via USB? Does something like this exist?

  9. #9
    thechadj's Avatar
    thechadj no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    690
    Yes a lot of the micro sd cards come with adaptors to make them into the size of standard sd cards. I had recently purchased a set that comes with a adaptor and another attachment that plugs directly into a USB port. Its a 2gig and was about $40. Regards cHAd ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    adam.sn's Avatar
    adam.sn no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    4c7dab38
    Posts
    87
    Just plug your BB into your macbook and turn on the hard drive option. It'll show up under your mac as an external drive. Just drag and drop songs on. Btw, even though i'm using PocketMac, Missing Sync kicks ***, you can do alot of really cool stuff with it.

  11. #11
    califjewls's Avatar
    califjewls no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by adam.sn View Post
    Just plug your BB into your macbook and turn on the hard drive option. It'll show up under your mac as an external drive. Just drag and drop songs on. Btw, even though i'm using PocketMac, Missing Sync kicks ***, you can do alot of really cool stuff with it.
    I have a MacBook Pro and it does not recognize my Blackberry when I connect with USB. Where do you turn on the hard drive option? I have tried transferring files with Missing Sync with no luck either. I know it must be some setting I am missing? Can someone please help? Thanks!

  12. #12
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    You go in to Options>Media Card and set mass storage mode support to on and auto enable mass storage mode when connected to Yes.

  13. #13
    r6668's Avatar
    r6668 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by califjewls View Post
    I have a MacBook Pro and it does not recognize my Blackberry when I connect with USB. Where do you turn on the hard drive option? I have tried transferring files with Missing Sync with no luck either. I know it must be some setting I am missing? Can someone please help? Thanks!
    options>media card>mass storage mode support: on

    Hope that helps.

  14. #14
    califjewls's Avatar
    califjewls no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by r6668 View Post
    options>media card>mass storage mode support: on

    Hope that helps.
    I had already done that it still doesnt recognize it. Thank you though.

  15. #15
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    Quote Originally Posted by califjewls View Post
    I had already done that it still doesnt recognize it. Thank you though.
    have you ever used a flash card/drive for that mac? or maybe a SD card adapter? it would use the same procedure and i am wondering what the result of using something other then the bb...

    because ... when i plug my jvc digital camera in it sees it as a portable drive too, same procedure.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •