Results 1 to 13 of 13

anyone know what i do to replace the desktop manager i used to have on ... Macs & MacBooks forum

  1. #1
    alex003's Avatar
    alex003 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    262992F4
    Posts
    106

    Question NEW iMac... so my 8320 curve is homelesS?

    Advertisement



    anyone know what i do to replace the desktop manager i used to have on my PC... i just bought a new IMAC... and i found pocketmac for blackberry, but that seems to just be for SYNC'n... anyone have any suggestions?

  2. #2
    lexo's Avatar
    lexo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    259
    imac- idont know sorry only suggestion is return and get a new pc

  3. #3
    alex003's Avatar
    alex003 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    262992F4
    Posts
    106
    hahah.... funny funny Lexo. i had a PC all my life and my last one just PISSED ME off sooooo much. soo slow, and just under performs. i know there are good PC's out there... but i'm a photographer so i think this will fit me better due to the photoshop apps and the speed of viewing pics and what not. but ya, im also a die hard berry fan and just realized that when i downloaded the desktop manager, it was a .exe file. which CANNOT be downloaded to MACs.

  4. #4
    furtive's Avatar
    furtive no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    7a47e9f3
    Posts
    400
    PocketMac is pretty much it for OS X.

    Your other option is to install Windows in a VMWare/Parallels instance and run that.

    Sorry. I feel your pain.

  5. #5
    alex003's Avatar
    alex003 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    262992F4
    Posts
    106
    damn. thanks guys. end of thread :0(

  6. #6
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    Actually.. I would recommend Boot Camp. I tried VMware Fusion and it's ALRIGHT, I just don't think it's worth $80 on top of the Windows OS for JUST syncing my Curve. So I still have a few days to play with Fusion, but I doubt I'll be buying it.

    If you really want to sync your BB to your Mac, I would go with Boot Camp.

  7. #7
    kieranwest's Avatar
    kieranwest no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me:)
    Posts
    1,208
    Quote Originally Posted by ssnxp View Post
    Actually.. I would recommend Boot Camp. I tried VMware Fusion and it's ALRIGHT, I just don't think it's worth $80 on top of the Windows OS for JUST syncing my Curve. So I still have a few days to play with Fusion, but I doubt I'll be buying it.

    If you really want to sync your BB to your Mac, I would go with Boot Camp.
    Good post, great suggestions but the delay in booting XP via bootcamp can be a drag. I personally would opt for Parallels.

  8. #8
    furtive's Avatar
    furtive no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    7a47e9f3
    Posts
    400
    Parallells vs VMWare :: Coke vs Pepsi. Both do the job well.

  9. #9
    adam.sn's Avatar
    adam.sn no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    4c7dab38
    Posts
    87
    You should try Missing Sync for blackberry... it's fantastic and well worth the $40. It allows you to sync itunes with your BB, import export photos into Itunes, sync folders on your mac with your bb in addition to all the other calender, contacts stuff... the only thing you can't do is install apps... but for that just use Parallels and the desktop manager.

  10. #10
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    Quote Originally Posted by kieranwest View Post
    Good post, great suggestions but the delay in booting XP via bootcamp can be a drag. I personally would opt for Parallels.
    Yea, but it's more stable than the "virtual" desktops in my opinion. I had a few hiccups here and there, no biggie. It's just I don't think it's worth 80$ if he's ONLY going to be syncing his BB. (:

  11. #11
    daveyboi's Avatar
    daveyboi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    188
    ssnxp is right. bootcamp is free! just get a copy of xp sp1 and run bootcamp!
    Proud owner of a 8700g and a 8320

  12. #12
    daveyboi's Avatar
    daveyboi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    188
    derr im a idiot. sp2 sorry
    Proud owner of a 8700g and a 8320

  13. #13
    ajmctaggart's Avatar
    ajmctaggart no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    168

    Use Virtualbox On Os X!

    You could probably use the free virtual machine called Virtual Box. Similar to a VMWare or Parallels, it's free and allows you to run other OS's like an XP/Vista install or Linux for that matter...

    Just thought I'd mention that...
    ajm

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •