Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

I am posting this warning to save other MacBook & MacBook Pro users & potential ... Macs & MacBooks forum

  1. #1
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996

    BootCamp Warning !

    Advertisement



    I am posting this warning to save other MacBook & MacBook Pro users & potential users from the same loss of time & money I have just experienced.

    As a true Mac Laptop enthusiast & long time PowerBook, now MacBook Pro user I would not wish this on anyone. The story:

    I just purchased a brand new MacBook Pro. The goal (since they run windows) was to use the version of BootCamp that comes preloaded with Leopard, along with XPpro SP2 to run Outlook & BB desktop Mgr. After spending all the money for windows & hours of time setting it up, I found out the "hidden truth". When I booted into windows I noticed the clock was 7 hours behind the present time. So I simply reset it not thinking too much about it. Then upon booting into Leopard I found it 5 hours ahead of time. Long story short, after checking all settings I called Apple Tech Support, only to hear the tech say "OH YEAH that's an ongoing problem with no fix".
    A casual comment like, tough luck it is what it is.

    I'm out of Pocket $3,000 and all I get is Oh Yeah! NO solution.

    So BE WARNED!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Ouch!! Sorry to hear another customer issue emerges with another company not backing up what they sell..At this point and especially where the economy is going this year, you would think you try to keep all the customers you can big or large.

    I guess being a customer even a loyal one doesnt matter to a BIG company anymore.

  3. #3
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by RSCStacker View Post
    Ouch!! Sorry to hear another customer issue emerges with another company not backing up what they sell..At this point and especially where the economy is going this year, you would think you try to keep all the customers you can big or large.

    I guess being a customer even a loyal one doesnt matter to a BIG company anymore.
    Yes, it is particularly frustrating as I have purchased nearly every new model of PowerBook since the release of the very first models. They began with three to choose from. A 100, 140, & 170. I bought a 140 just three days after the release. Since then I've upgraded annually or more frequently. I have attended every MacWorld Event in San Francisco, therefore one can see that I've done my part as a loyal customer.

    There should have been a disclosure of this serious of a fault. It would give me reason to admire the companys honesty, instead of the opposite. I would still buy the laptop & added Parallels or
    Vmware. The loss of my time would have been avoided, if only I would have been informed.

    via: Red BB 8310

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Quote Originally Posted by archer6 View Post
    Yes, it is particularly frustrating as I have purchased nearly every new model of PowerBook since the release of the very first models. They began with three to choose from. A 100, 140, & 170. I bought a 140 just three days after the release. Since then I've upgraded annually or more frequently. I have attended every MacWorld Event in San Francisco, therefore one can see that I've done my part as a loyal customer.

    There should have been a disclosure of this serious of a fault. It would give me reason to admire the companys honesty, instead of the opposite. I would still buy the laptop & added Parallels or
    Vmware. The loss of my time would have been avoided, if only I would have been informed.

    via: Red BB 8310
    Yeah gotta say that a little bit of honesty goes a long way.

    For an example. the company I have doing remodels to my restaurant has been very honest every step of the way. From the bidding process to the actual point where they have started construction work and are still very honest to date. They mentioned they would take about 3 weeks to complete the project, yet they seem to be well ahead of their schedule. Still saying 3 weeks to complete the project, but more than likely will finsih early.

    Sometimes small business is the way to go. I try to give my business to small business all I can. Usually the only ones who still treat you as a "person"

  5. #5
    ted's Avatar
    ted
    ted no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    506
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ Sorry to hear about the problem there Archer! does it have the same problem if you use VM Fusion? (Can't remember the official name of the VM software but it let's you run Windows as another window on the Mac desktop.

    As a photographer I was looking at the Macbook pro, but my platform was Windows before I went pro so I'm trying to avoid paying for licenses all over again. Especially since CS3 costs a king's ransom as it is!

    Thanx for the warning!

  6. #6
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by RSCStacker View Post
    Yeah gotta say that a little bit of honesty goes a long way.


    Sometimes small business is the way to go. I try to give my business to small business all I can. Usually the only ones who still treat you as a "person"
    First of all Kudos for a great post!

    Yes, I agree with you on doing business locally and with people who do what they say, as well as appreciate your business.

  7. #7
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    Sorry I'm a bit confused, all that's wrong is the TIME is reset/changed? Am I missing something here? :/

  8. #8
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by ted View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ Sorry to hear about the problem there Archer! does it have the same problem if you use VM Fusion? (Can't remember the official name of the VM software but it let's you run Windows as another window on the Mac desktop.

    As a photographer I was looking at the Macbook pro, but my platform was Windows before I went pro so I'm trying to avoid paying for licenses all over again. Especially since CS3 costs a king's ransom as it is!

    Thanx for the warning!
    ----
    Greetings Ted, & all of you reading this entry.

    Thank You! For asking this question, as honestly I feel better already just knowing that my warning post, saved one person from what I went through.

    Also as an Avid Amateur photographer I understand where you're coming from.

    To your question:
    I'm doing very extensive, & intensive research presently so that I can get back on track with my MacBook Pro.

    On a very positive note I will say that I am very impressed with the new MBP. For any of you that would like to know more about the computer & open source, please PM me as I don't want to drift off topic in this thread. Suffice to say that, with all due modesty, I'm a laptop expert/computer scientist/OS specialist (win/linux/unix/OS X) who is very committed to the BlackBerry Platform.

    So far my research has revealed that Parallels & WMware essentially are nearly the same in how they perform on the desktop. However they are built on totally different foundations. They both have some issues of substance in their current versions. However that said, they are working aggressively to improve & are doing so very quickly with true focus.

    Had I had any suspicion about Boot Camp I would have found out about the clock issue sooner, but in typical Apple fashion they kept it quite for their own selfish profit taking.

    Now _do_Not_ get me wrong_ I am_ Not_ Bashing Apple. It is what it is. And as a long time customer I am very aware of how Apple operates.

    Finally Parallels vs WMware is a complex comparison that merits the time & effort I'm putting into the research. Once you buy one, you are buying into what is an ongoing development platform which eventually will provide unlimited possibilities with what one can do with a Mac. This is due to OS X being built on an open source platform.

    One of the two software solutions we are discussing will prevail & proliferate while the other may stagnate. Presently they are "tied" in this race, thus it's not easy to determine which to choose now, but I'm going to overcome that challenge. Stay tuned.

    Cheers!
    via: Red BB 8310
    Thank You PinStack.

  9. #9
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by ssnxp View Post
    Sorry I'm a bit confused, all that's wrong is the TIME is reset/changed? Am I missing something here? :/
    Here is the problem:

    Apple advertises that Leopard includes Boot Camp so that one may run windows on their new Mac.

    I make a purchase decision based on this information. As I must run WinXP to use Outlook and BB destkop mgr, both of which are critical to my daily operations. The MacBook Pro would be the perfect dual boot solution, as I really like the new Leopard OS for most everything but my need to run these apps.

    I go to the local Apple store where they reassure me that I can buy a MacBook Pro, which comes with Leopard and Boot Camp preloaded. Therefore I only have to buy a full copy of WinXP SP2 on Disk and I'm ready to go. Fine I drop $3,000 for a MBP tax, warranty, and I'm out the door.

    Come home, setup the MBP, use the Boot Camp assistant, to partition the disk, format it, then install WinXP. So far , so good.

    I boot up into OS X all looks good, except I find the clock is off my 7 hours. I reset it do my work, then reboot into XP. Take one look at the clock to find it 5 hours off. I reset it, and now double check my work, I want to be sure I have both clocks set the same. Reboot into OS X to find the clock is off _again_ by 7 hours and one day. Now I must reset the clock and the calendar which I do. Then I boot into XP and find that once again the clock is off 7 hours and one day. Long story short, after about 10 back and forth tests, all of which malfunction.

    I call Apple Tech Support. The person is courteous and says "Oh Yeah" we know about that and there is no fix. What? A casual "there is no fix". What I expected when he first said no fix, was a "but we are working on it and there will be an update. NO such luck.

    So I have the call escalated to top tier support. This guy knows what he is doing I can just tell. I tell him about my experience and he says "Oh Yeah" we know about that, it was a problem in the beta version and it cannot be fixed! I interpret that as tough luck. How else?

    Thus I sit here with a $3,000 out of pocket mistake. Welcome to the world of Steve Jobs and we only want your money!

    At this point, based on my usage I would be using both XP and OS X each day. On my laptop which I use at each client call, I would be switching from the Mac side to the Windows side four times during each meeting. I do 4 client meetings a day. So that represents EIGHT times I would have to reset the clock and calendar per meeting in each OS! For the average day I would be resetting the clock and calendar THIRTY TWO TIMES!

    What kind of company would release software like this?

    If Microsoft did this they would be hung on the front page of every newspaper in the land, whereas Apple does it and they are "cool".

    Can I resort to something else? I'm sure I can, but_ that's_ not_ the _point. I'm the customer and should not have to compensate for the failure of software that I paid for.

    The only two remaining choices are to use Virtualization software which runs the two operating systems side by side and that is NOT what I want to do. For you see I'm an Apple advocate, enjoy their computers and have been doing so for years. What I am NOT is a Fan Boy, an Apple Cult, Lemming following the every move of the ringmaster a certain Mr. Jobs, who by the way is laughing all the way to the bank.

    I want to enjoy the Leopard OS and all the things that the MBP has to offer without having to look at windows at the same time. I must run windows, but only as a part time usage application, when using the MBP.

    However I have been lied to, and mislead, not by just the store salesperson but by the Apple Ads, the print and media ads they buy to sell the superiority of the "Cool Company, called Apple".

    Excuse me while I go take a shower......YUCK!


  10. #10
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    I see, I didn't think resetting a clock would cause that much trouble.. but if you're switching back and forth that often, I can see why it would become a hassle. I was thinking about getting a macbook, but I don't know anymore

  11. #11
    cesararv's Avatar
    cesararv no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    12
    MMM... that's weird...

    I have the black macbook and I don't have that problem....

    I installed the xp version of windows....

  12. #12
    hudss's Avatar
    hudss no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    304B3C55
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by cesararv View Post
    MMM... that's weird...

    I have the black macbook and I don't have that problem....

    I installed the xp version of windows....

    I'm running vista on the black macbook..no problem here either..maybe it's just a pro thing..

  13. #13
    tsykes's Avatar
    tsykes no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by hudss View Post
    I'm running vista on the black macbook..no problem here either..maybe it's just a pro thing..
    I as well have XP on my Black Macbook no problems either.

    It's not just a pro thing. i have a friend that dual boots xp on his mbp and it is totally fine.

    archer6 I'm really sorry to hear about your problem.

    I don't know if you mentioned this but have you tried to reinstall your WinXP partition or try to reinstall the drivers on the xp?

  14. #14
    chatster18's Avatar
    chatster18 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    1,121
    Quote Originally Posted by archer6 View Post
    I am posting this warning to save other MacBook & MacBook Pro users & potential users from the same loss of time & money I have just experienced.

    As a true Mac Laptop enthusiast & long time PowerBook, now MacBook Pro user I would not wish this on anyone. The story:

    I just purchased a brand new MacBook Pro. The goal (since they run windows) was to use the version of BootCamp that comes preloaded with Leopard, along with XPpro SP2 to run Outlook & BB desktop Mgr. After spending all the money for windows & hours of time setting it up, I found out the "hidden truth". When I booted into windows I noticed the clock was 7 hours behind the present time. So I simply reset it not thinking too much about it. Then upon booting into Leopard I found it 5 hours ahead of time. Long story short, after checking all settings I called Apple Tech Support, only to hear the tech say "OH YEAH that's an ongoing problem with no fix".
    A casual comment like, tough luck it is what it is.

    I'm out of Pocket $3,000 and all I get is Oh Yeah! NO solution.

    So BE WARNED!

    That sucks, when I was using the Beta we had that problem. But I thought that was fixed in the Leopard release... Makes me wonder...
    it's always greener with the other carrier...

  15. #15
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by tsykes View Post
    I as well have XP on my Black Macbook no problems either.

    It's not just a pro thing. i have a friend that dual boots xp on his mbp and it is totally fine.

    archer6 I'm really sorry to hear about your problem.

    I don't know if you mentioned this but have you tried to reinstall your WinXP partition or try to reinstall the drivers on the xp?
    ------
    Yes I have. However after emailing everyone I could think of that owns a Mac, I just received two responses from guys that are not having the problem. As well as reading the same thing here.

    So at this point I've decided to wipe the drive, start from the beginning & reload OSX, then reload XP and see what happens for the third time, as I've already performed this complete erase & reformat twice. Perhaps the third time will do it.

    Thanks to all who have responded, I will report back.

    Cheers!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •