Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 67

I just talked to RIM tech support. They only recommend to use 1GB MicroSD card ... BlackBerry Accessories forum

  1. #1
    zukutu's Avatar
    zukutu no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    32

    MicroSD Max size

    Advertisement



    I just talked to RIM tech support.
    They only recommend to use 1GB MicroSD card on Pearl.
    However, if you want to use more than 1GB, San Disk 2GB MicroSD will not work with Pearl, but some other brand will.

    Could some one confirm this?

    Thanks,
    Zu

  2. #2
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    I think that's another bug:

    When a 2GB microSD memory card is inserted in a BlackBerry Pearl 8100 smartphone, the LCD screen on the BlackBerry Pearl will not turn on, and the red LED will blink continually.
    The BlackBerry Pearl supports memory cards with up to 1GB storage capacity.
    This is a previously reported issue that has been escalatedby RIM's development team. No resolution time frame is currently available.

  3. #3
    shafferds's Avatar
    shafferds no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    23d2a4fe
    Posts
    488

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    that would be a software issue correct?? ummm rethinking running out and getting the pearl - may wait to new os upgrade comes out
    DO OR DO NOT THERE IS NO TRY

  4. #4
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: MicroSD Max size


  5. #5
    sanfrancisco's Avatar
    sanfrancisco no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    568

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    I don't know if that is technically a bug. Many of my devices, cameras, MP3 players, all that use SD, CF and Microdrives have capacity limitations. All of them do say, however, what the limitations are [e.g., "uses up to 2GB CF chips"].

    Now if RIM did NOT state the 1Gb limitation, then that is a problem with communication, failing to tell us about it. But that does not mean there is a defect in the 8100 as to chip capacity.

    Of course, like anyone I'd like to see higher capacity chip capability. But then again, I went to Buy com and bought two Kingston 1GB mini-SD chips for $20 each after rebate. I know 2GB chips cost much more, inasmuch as manufacturers charge more for the next jump.
    Last edited by sanfrancisco; 09-18-2006 at 11:07 AM.

  6. #6
    tflecht's Avatar
    tflecht no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    204B2DAC
    Posts
    1

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    Does anyone know of a way people (like me ) can report on this problem, so that RIM might get a better idea of the number of people affected?

  7. #7
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    I can't wait till the 4GB MicroSD comes out and RIM gets it compatible with the pearl!

  8. #8
    desjr7359's Avatar
    desjr7359 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DECE1A
    Posts
    58

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I came accross the same problem, at first I thought my phone might be defective, thankfully it's just a bug (hopefully). Looking forward to when I can use a card larger than a gig cause this is actually replacing my iPod for long stretches.

  9. #9
    cmarriott's Avatar
    cmarriott no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    Hi,

    I have the same problem. I now have a 2GB and 1GB SanDisk microSD. I decided to hold onto my 2GB card and use it as a usb flash sick until the new OS comes out, hopefully...

  10. #10
    EvolutionCSR's Avatar
    EvolutionCSR no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,711

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~I love more memory also but 1 GB is more than sufficent for my needs I can hold a whole movie, a few sitcoms and a lot of songs, more than that? I should just watch TV lol. Although it would be cool to hold More like some of my important documents for media purposes I can't see myself spending more than I can bare on this smallscreen.

  11. #11
    scbrown's Avatar
    scbrown no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    204B2598
    Posts
    2

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    T-Mobile said that a new version of Pearl OS would be released in 2 1/2 months that will fix this and seemed definite on date which was interesting with how many delays there are with software releases. I am keeping the 2 gig SanDisk and put in a 1 gig SanDisk for now it works ok.

  12. #12
    ericugs's Avatar
    ericugs no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    258

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    Quote Originally Posted by tflecht
    Does anyone know of a way people (like me ) can report on this problem, so that RIM might get a better idea of the number of people affected?
    Again, RIM knows. RIM has also stated that they will could only handle up to 1gig on their site for awhile now.

    But like the above posters said the new OS upgrade will have the 2gig support.

  13. #13
    Ljay's Avatar
    Ljay no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    318FEA1B
    Posts
    16

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    At least 2GB if you're using the Rogers updated firmware.

    Ljay

  14. #14
    bobmcelroy's Avatar
    bobmcelroy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24533BD3
    Posts
    267

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    This is so wack i was about to buy a 2 gig card i guess im better off getting the one gig
    and them after the fitmware update get a 4 gig when it comes out
    Thanks for the tip

  15. #15
    Ljay's Avatar
    Ljay no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    318FEA1B
    Posts
    16

    Re: MicroSD Max size

    Quote Originally Posted by bobmcelroy
    This is so wack i was about to buy a 2 gig card i guess im better off getting the one gig
    and them after the fitmware update get a 4 gig when it comes out
    Thanks for the tip
    2 gig and the rogers firmware and your all set

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •