Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

I bought a 2gb micro sd for the blackberry pearl 8100 i received yesterday. I ... BlackBerry Accessories forum

  1. #1
    ofmalicehearts's Avatar
    ofmalicehearts no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    2GB micro sd card problems, Tried just about everything.

    Advertisement



    I bought a 2gb micro sd for the blackberry pearl 8100 i received yesterday. I device formatted the card and mass storage is enabled. However, the card doesn't show up in my computer as a removable drive like I've read it should, AND the Roxio media manager won't even let me access the card to put files on it. If anyone could please help me I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you for your time.

  2. #2
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Hello and welcome to PinStack .

    Do you have both the Handheld Software and Desktop Manager Installed?

    You need both of these installed from the disc before your phone is fully visible on your PC.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  3. #3
    ofmalicehearts's Avatar
    ofmalicehearts no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    I checked to see what handheld software was installed on my phone and it said v4.2.1.107

    Should I reinstall the handheld software? or will that erase everything I have on my phone?

  4. #4
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    No that is the latest release for T-Mobile so you are ok with that.

    What happens when you connect your BB with a USB? Are there any prompts that pop up?

    Is the card visible on your phone itself?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  5. #5
    ofmalicehearts's Avatar
    ofmalicehearts no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    When I connect the phone to my computer the desktop manager just tells me the device is connected. The card is visible on my phone, just not to my computer. I have no clue why.

  6. #6
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    These are my media card settings:

    Media Card Support: On
    Encryption Mode: None
    Mass Storage Mode Support: On
    Auto Enable Mass Storage Mode When Connected: Yes


    Are yours different?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  7. #7
    ofmalicehearts's Avatar
    ofmalicehearts no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    All were the same except for Auto Enable Mass Storage Mode When Connected, I had it set to prompt but I just changed it. It hasn't seemed to Change anything however

  8. #8
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Did you install the memcard correctly?

    Why don't you try doing a battery pull and see if that fixes it real quick...
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  9. #9
    ofmalicehearts's Avatar
    ofmalicehearts no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    hm, the card is in correctly and I tried pulling the battery. Still no luck. I appreciate your help though. Thank you

  10. #10
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Hmm tricky tricky.

    Try removing all the blackberry applications from your desktop completely.

    After that reinstall them and connect your BB after all the applications are installed on your desktop.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  11. #11
    ofmalicehearts's Avatar
    ofmalicehearts no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    I will try that, thank you.

  12. #12
    ofmalicehearts's Avatar
    ofmalicehearts no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7
    It still doesn't work. Could the card be the problem? I read that the pearls had issues with 2gb cards?

  13. #13
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    I don't think it would be the card if you purchased it brand new, but its possible.

    I use a 4gb microsdhc from kingston with my BB 8100.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  14. #14
    Sparky1254's Avatar
    Sparky1254 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    24380272
    Posts
    42
    AT&T proved to me that only the "Sandisk" brand will work in a BlackBerry Pearl 8100c

  15. #15
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    my wife has a sandisk in her 8100 and its never given her a problem. But I have a Kingston in my 8310 and it also has never given me any problems, we're both on AT&T. Maybe true what AT&T said, but I dont see how that would really matter since a media card is viewed as only storage.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •