Results 1 to 10 of 10

I am running Office/Outlook 2007 (with business contact manager) on Vista, and just purchased a ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    bweinheimer's Avatar
    bweinheimer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Question Unable to sync Curve 8330 w/ Outlook 2007

    Advertisement



    I am running Office/Outlook 2007 (with business contact manager) on Vista, and just purchased a new Blackberry Curve 8330 from Verizon yesterday. When I open desktop manager and try to sync with Outlook, it says no devices are configured for Synching. Then, I open the synchronize tab, select configuration, and it lists devices available for synching. However, outlook does not appear, only ASCII Importer/Exporter and Yahoo.

    I called Verizon and they couldn't help and just told me to call blackberry.

    Has anyone else encountered this problem and found a fix?

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Vista installs can be tricky. Lets start here. Check your Default Programs and make sure that Outlook is your default email program...Please also confirm you are running Desktop Manager 4.3
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    bweinheimer's Avatar
    bweinheimer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks...I checked my default programs, and outlook seems to be set as the default e-mail program. I was running DM 4.3 when I first tried synching the blackberry, but am currently in the middle of installing and giving 4.2 sp2 a shot to see if it works.
    Last edited by bweinheimer; 05-27-2008 at 02:54 PM. Reason: Clarification

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i think vista prefers 4.3 but let's see what happens. Make sure you install as administrator.

  5. #5
    bweinheimer's Avatar
    bweinheimer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5
    Yes, it doesn't seem that 4.2 supports the 8330. How do I make sure I'm installing as the administrator?

  6. #6
    bweinheimer's Avatar
    bweinheimer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5
    I reinstalled DM 4.3. I'm the only user so I'm pretty sure I installed it as the admin. I'm still having the same problem, except now Yahoo doesn't even appear, just ASCII Importer Exporter.

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I am going to refer you to a rather lengthy Blackberry Technical Solution article on this issue. It may be too technical for your comfort - if so post back questions and we will try to help.

    CLICK HERE
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    bweinheimer's Avatar
    bweinheimer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for the article...it was a bit above my technical ability but I appreciate the response. I was able to get the blackberry to sync by removing Small Business Contact manager from Outlook 2007. I had read somewhere that it was not compatible with blackberry, but I didn't realize that possibly just by having it there, I could not sync.

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Glad you got it solved, and thanks for posting back the info. I was suspicious of that app but when you indicated that Outlook was the default email I thought it would take care of that.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    MWPatterson's Avatar
    MWPatterson no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Plz
    Posts
    1,031
    I have even reinstalled both DM 4.3 and Outllok and it will sync all but Calendar. What is going on. This is happening on 3 different PC's with the same BB. Am I missing a service book. I read someehere the is a desktop sync one and that is missing om my 8330.

    This started with my 8330, my 8703 was fine.

    I just used it on my 7100i and 8703e and the reconized the calendar and it will not see the 8330 Calendars

    Ok Got it, Options, Advanced, Default Services.
    Set the address book to the 1st one in the list.
    Last edited by MWPatterson; 06-03-2008 at 12:03 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •