Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

I installed DM 4.2.2 on my computer (No BES) and can sync fine with my ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    hussungdc's Avatar
    hussungdc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Question Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    Advertisement



    I installed DM 4.2.2 on my computer (No BES) and can sync fine with my 8830. When I try and open Media Manager I get the following error:

    Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
    Runtime Error!
    Program:C\Program Files\Roxio\Media Manager 9\Mediamanager9.exe

    "This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the applications support team for more information."

    I have uninstalled and re-installed the software from the disc once and have downloaded the software from BB's website and did a repair...to no avail.

    Any advice on what I need to do? I am a small business with no IT staff and am really good with computers; however, I am not an IT professional. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,

    David

  2. #2
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    Check the logs in Start -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Event Viewer.

    For the same time the error occurs. What's the output?

  3. #3
    fdjoke's Avatar
    fdjoke no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    hello,
    Roxio is not RIM Blackberry
    On my PC
    In C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\
    rim_media_manager.exe
    Version 4.2.1.16
    Conflict between Roxio Software ( Burning soft) and Media Manager of RIM Blackberry
    Bye

  4. #4
    granny's Avatar
    granny no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    3048BD00
    Posts
    11

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    has anyone got a fix for this yet my 8830 does the same thing, i can't use Roxio Media Manager

  5. #5
    cbrosin's Avatar
    cbrosin no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    301A480A
    Posts
    2

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    Same problem here please keep me posted with a solution. Thanks

  6. #6
    wbritt's Avatar
    wbritt no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    I have found a fix for the problem, but the system will not let me post the URl.. Any idea on how I can post it?

  7. #7
    fstbusa's Avatar
    fstbusa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    3054210e
    Posts
    131

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    leave off the http and www

  8. #8
    fstbusa's Avatar
    fstbusa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    3054210e
    Posts
    131

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    Has anyone gotten this to work with the pearl? All I can get is the runtime error.........

  9. #9
    mpiper's Avatar
    mpiper no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Smile Fix: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    Found a fix for this issue on my system (XPSP2, Windows Media Player 11, Verizon 8830, DM 4.2.2.14 Apr 26, 2007) in the crackberry forums. The fix was actually copied from the RIM Technical Solution Center into the forum. Search for Doc ID : KB12973 in the RIM Blackberry Technical Solution Center for their description and resolution if interested. I was a bit skeptical at first since I didnt recall the error message referencing the DAO.msi component but the fix worked for me. I cut and pasted the regsvr32 commands right from my browser to avoid typos and only had to use the first resolution described below.

    The search on the RIM site doesnt seem to be working this morning so here are the procedures that were posted on the crackberry forum:

    Begin qoute

    Removing the DAO.msi component and registering it again resolves this error.

    To remove the DAO.msi component, follow these steps:

    1. On the taskbar, click Start > Run.
    2. In the Run dialog box, type the following:

    regsvr32 /u "c:\program files\common files\microsoft shared\dao\dao360.dll”

    3. Click OK.

    To register the DAO.msi component again, follow these steps:

    1. On the taskbar, click Start > Run.
    2. In the Run dialog box, type the following:

    regsvr32 "c:\program files\common files\microsoft shared\dao\dao360.dll"

    3. Click OK.

    Resolution 2

    If the error message still appears after completing Resolution 1, you may need to delete the DAO.msi component. To delete the component, follow these steps:

    1. On the taskbar, click Start > Control Panel.
    2. Double-click Add or Remove Programs.
    3. Scroll down in the application list until you locate DAO.
    4. Click once on the DAO entry to select it, and then click Remove.

    End qoute
    Last edited by mpiper; 09-22-2007 at 01:51 PM. Reason: Tried to post direct link to BB, denied

  10. #10
    fstbusa's Avatar
    fstbusa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    3054210e
    Posts
    131

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~will this solve the runtime error? I haven't gotten the Dao message just get the runtime error everytime I try to load the roxio media manager.

  11. #11
    mpiper's Avatar
    mpiper no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by fstbusa
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~will this solve the runtime error? I haven't gotten the Dao message just get the runtime error everytime I try to load the roxio media manager.
    Fixed the runtime error for me, I never had the dao error either.

  12. #12
    fstbusa's Avatar
    fstbusa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    3054210e
    Posts
    131

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~sweet i'll have to check it out then!

  13. #13
    xxmeorxx's Avatar
    xxmeorxx no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    Thanks mpiper! That worked!

  14. #14
    fstbusa's Avatar
    fstbusa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    3054210e
    Posts
    131

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    did not work for me. Couldn't unregister the dll. Tried removing it and it wouldn't allow me to either. Tryied reinstalling the DAO but that didn't work either.:cry:

  15. #15
    littleacorn's Avatar
    littleacorn no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    389

    Re: Runtime Error Media Manager - HELP!!!

    we'll see in about a minute if it worked; this is my issue.

    imho: 4.2 blows.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •