Results 1 to 13 of 13

Hello, I am new to the forum, so I believe I get to ask at ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    smckechnie's Avatar
    smckechnie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Question Roxio Media Manager

    Advertisement



    Hello,

    I am new to the forum, so I believe I get to ask at least one dumb question.

    After installing Desktop Manager 4.3 and connecting with my 8310, I do not see a media icon or option available for synchronizing music, ringtones, or movies. Does the BlackBerry require an additional memory card installed first before this feature will appear?

    I tried DM 4.2.2 as well.

    Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    on my desktop manager, 4.3, it is the first selection -- media manager. you don't see it? i don't even have to plug my bb in to see it as an option

    welcome to pinstack

    ::edit::

    if you do not see the icon for media manager, i would uninstall and reinstall...

    use this to uninstall
    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...200%2012936465
    use this thread to reinstall
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...age_guide.html
    Last edited by cherrichiodo; 01-02-2008 at 06:07 PM.

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    Hi Sm....As Cherri posted - here is my 4.3 Start up screen. Notice the Media Manager Icon at the top.




    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    smckechnie's Avatar
    smckechnie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    Thanks Guys.

    I uninstalled and re-installed as suggested with both version 4.3 and 4.2.2 Desktop Manager from RIM. Have even utilized another PC, but to no avail, see no Media connection. Any other suggestions?

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    smck,

    Just to be clear - when you lanuch desktop manager do you have a media manager icon as in the screen shot I posted?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    peguero's Avatar
    peguero no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    21958312
    Posts
    979

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    In your opinion- is the Roxio software any good?

    Are there any alternatives?
    5RAWMINUTES!

    "Things that you want to change in the world have to start inside yourself. You have to be thinking. You have to be resisting. You have to be talking."
    – George Carlin

  7. #7
    James80's Avatar
    James80 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    31955D4A
    Posts
    264

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~For some reason I can get the desktop manager to install but when it comes to the media manager it installs halfway then hangs up at "please insert disk". What disk is it referring to? I've searched every thread here on roxio( I think lol) and I can't seem to find an answer to the insert disk part. Any suggestions will be appreciated, thanks.

  8. #8
    smckechnie's Avatar
    smckechnie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    smck,

    Just to be clear - when you lanuch desktop manager do you have a media manager icon as in the screen shot I posted?
    GaryF,

    Yes I do. I tried to post it, but since I am a newby, did not have permission.

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    @smck

    So where is the issue occurring?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by peguero View Post
    In your opinion- is the Roxio software any good?

    Are there any alternatives?

    I find the Roxio application easy to use and have had no issues with it. There are several alternatives if you wish, another popular applicaiton is Seabyrds Blackberry Video Converter.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    smckechnie's Avatar
    smckechnie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    @smck

    So where is the issue occurring?
    The Media Icon, that appears in your post, does not appear when I install either 4.3 or 4.2.2 of DM. After testing with two other machines now, it lead me to believe the device had to be attached with additional memory. But I can see from the forum that is an incorrect assumption. I see no issues going through the installation process. I've confirmed the installation of all options during the process.

    I am utilizing the latest download from RIM. I am now pondering the idea that our XP image, or group policies may be preventing. Will know for sure after testing on a home machine.

  12. #12
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    I have not experienced any problems with Roxio, it's working just fine for me.

    Then again I'm on BIS & have no limitations regarding how I choose to setup & use my BB.

    Conversely for those on BES, it's subject to company policies & restrictions. This could be the cause if your problems.

    ~via Red BB 8310 (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    darkdragoon's Avatar
    darkdragoon no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: Roxio Media Manager

    I'm just wondering if Roxio Media Manager works only with OS4.2 or later because it tells me that no device connected while my BB with OS4.1 is plugged in.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •