Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 40

~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~how would this upgrade work for the 7105t?... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #16
    nboy's Avatar
    nboy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    246b7029
    Posts
    78

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    Advertisement



    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~how would this upgrade work for the 7105t?

  2. #17
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    fournier, It is not unusual to release an upgrade to a general application to cover an added device that needs that application to be ready, just prior to the release of that device. Just because older devices can't use all the capabilities that are provided in the upgrade is no reason to delay the upgrade.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  3. #18
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    Good question nboy.


  4. #19
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    nboy, which upgrade, the DM or the OS? The DM will work just like the old one does until the OS versions for you device come out. But I can't guess what 4.2.x.xxx will allow on the 7105t.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  5. #20
    penk's Avatar
    penk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    105
    Quote Originally Posted by nboy
    how would this upgrade work for the 7105t?
    if you're asking what the DT software will do for the 7105t... not much for the handset itself, but wonders for your patience!

    the access and seeding seems to be a touch faster, and the backup is noticeably quicker in its completion. also, running zen i occasionally force a hard boot to free up memory, which usually causes a time out during the first post-battery-pop backup. the new desktop seems to push through without errors.


    otherwise, aside from prettier icons, the best new addition (usable by everyone, 8100 or no...) is the Synchronize button. no longer hidden in a sub menu, this moves the 'berry one step closer to a fully-featured desktop interface. all we need now is an Address Book-minded PIM desktop interface.


    NOTE: installing over your previous DT you will likely end up with dual icons. check their properties to find the one you don't need, or simply delete it before you install the 4.2 upgrade. oh, and be ready to re-pair your handset with your Bluetooth adapter.

  6. #21
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    penk, thanks for the review. When I installed it over 4.1.1.12, I did not get the dual Icons. It appears to have propely removed the previous version.

    Just my experience.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #22
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    The Desktop Manager is what I'm asking about.

    This following statement is from the Release Notes: "This version of the BlackBerry Desktop Software is intended for use with BlackBerry devices that are runnng version 4.0 of the Java-based BlackBerry device software or BlackBerry devices that are running version 2.7 or later of the C++-based BlackBerry device software."


  8. #23
    naviwilliams's Avatar
    naviwilliams no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    742

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    ...the software has the 'look' of going from Win2K to WinXP...

  9. #24
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    I'm going to download and install it now to see what it does.


  10. #25
    CoolFinalFan's Avatar
    CoolFinalFan no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    951

    Smile Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    Kind of leary of trying it guess I can set a restore point and also back up the BB and all that... still leary , Microsoft made me this way! LOL! And I'm not slammin them just leary....
    Thanks!

  11. #26
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    Downloaded and installed the new DM and it works perfectly with my 7105t.


  12. #27
    rgershbock's Avatar
    rgershbock no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    10

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Spamdumpster

    Does anyone know how it will work? Does it have to go through an enterprise activation for the new pin if you're on a BES? This could be a big feature for those who get an 8100 for the weekends, but prefer a full keyboard during the work week. As for me, I prefer the suretype to the full keyboard, so I don't see a personal use for this.
    I just moved my account from a 7250 to a 7130e, despite the fact that my BES policy is set to not allow a user to swap handhelds. The wizard asks if it should activate the new device. It then does a backup, prompts you to switch devices, then does a restore and optionally activation. The new device goes through a classic slow synchronization, such as you would see with enterprise activation. The Desktop Manager also tried to do a software upgrade, despite the fact that the new unit was up to level. I let it run, and it concluded that it had nothing to do.

  13. #28
    bbballer's Avatar
    bbballer no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    I have 4.1 and 7280 should I download this?

  14. #29
    julieedwards's Avatar
    julieedwards no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    1234
    Posts
    2

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    i can seem to get the BB desktop software to be download!!!! please help

  15. #30
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: RIM has posted Desktop Software v4.2

    julieedwards, Welcome to PinStack.

    What indications do you get when attempting to download? What are you using to download it?

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •