Results 1 to 12 of 12

Hi Everyone I'm hoping someone here can help me. I've just tried to update my ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    gloomywood's Avatar
    gloomywood no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM me
    Posts
    36

    Question Please Help?? *8310 won't turn on after failed update

    Advertisement



    Hi Everyone

    I'm hoping someone here can help me.

    I've just tried to update my 8310 via Desktop Manager ver 4.7

    The upgrade got as far as turning off my phone, was loading the java apps, but then froze.

    It sat there for 90 minutes without turning back on or changing the progress bar at all.

    My pc then came up with a fatal error warning and closed DM.

    My phone now will not turn on at all.
    All I have is the LED flashing red in cycles of 2 flashes. This stops after approx 15 repetitions before stopping. But the phone never actually turns on.

    I have no idea what to do now as I cannot get it to connect to DM (obviously) as it will not turn on....

    Any help very greatfully received as I really need my phone!

    I did do a backup before starting the upgrade - but again as I cannot turn the phone on, I'm stuck!:cry:
    __________________________________________
    What would Scooby Doo?
    BB History - 9780, 9700, 8310, 8100, 7290, 7250


  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    uninstall DM 4.7 (from your control panel/add remove programs) be sure to reboot after ...

    reinstall DM 4.6 and try to install the update again.

  3. #3
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I had that happen to me about a month or 2 ago but I was using DM 4.6 and a back up 8100. What I ended up doing was a clean uninstall and reinstall of the OS and it finally upgraded.


  4. #4
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Go to this thread and try it. It has worked for me in the past and saved my BB

    http://forums.pinstack.com/f73/reinstall_os_computer_wont_recognize_device_connected-5178/

  5. #5
    gloomywood's Avatar
    gloomywood no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM me
    Posts
    36
    Hi Cherrichiodo, Erica and pdxmatts

    Thanks to your advice, I have finally got my Curve back to life.

    Iti s of course now sadly lacking the Sat Nav programme that came with it from my phone provider, but at least it is working and I've got all my data and messages etc back from the backup I did just before it died.

    Don't think I'll bother with DM 4.7 again!

    Cheers everyone for your swift responses.
    __________________________________________
    What would Scooby Doo?
    BB History - 9780, 9700, 8310, 8100, 7290, 7250


  6. #6
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by gloomywood View Post
    Hi Cherrichiodo, Erica and pdxmatts

    Thanks to your advice, I have finally got my Curve back to life.

    Iti s of course now sadly lacking the Sat Nav programme that came with it from my phone provider, but at least it is working and I've got all my data and messages etc back from the backup I did just before it died.

    Don't think I'll bother with DM 4.7 again!

    Cheers everyone for your swift responses.
    Try going to options>host routing tables> and hitting menu. Then select register and see if that fixes the nav program issue for you.

  7. #7
    gloomywood's Avatar
    gloomywood no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM me
    Posts
    36

    Please Help?? *8310 won't turn on after failed upgrade

    Hey

    Thanks for the suggestion.

    As it is now 5:30am her in Britain and I have work later today, I will try this later and let you know how I get on.

    If this doesn't work, is it possible to just copy the programme from a friends Curve?

    It isn't a part of the BB programmes, but is provided by the agent my phone is from.

    __________________________________________
    What would Scooby Doo?
    BB History - 9780, 9700, 8310, 8100, 7290, 7250


  8. #8
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    you might be able to retrieve the navi from your carrier browser (mine's medianet)
    that's how i always get back telenav when i have new devices or have to wipe the bb.

  9. #9
    gloomywood's Avatar
    gloomywood no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM me
    Posts
    36
    Hi Moderncowboy and Cherri

    Well I've had no luck with trying the HRT.

    Cherri - the software is from a cellphone store rather than my mobile service provider, so I'm stumped.

    I have reloaded the BB software from O2 (service provider) from their website as when I tried using the CD that came with the phone it just kept telling me there was no software for my device.

    Maybe I'm missing something obvious......

    The software was free with the 8310 silver, but is now sold monthly with every other phone, I don't want to end up having to buy it back.

    Cheers for all your help.

    G
    __________________________________________
    What would Scooby Doo?
    BB History - 9780, 9700, 8310, 8100, 7290, 7250


  10. #10
    gloomywood's Avatar
    gloomywood no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM me
    Posts
    36
    Hi All

    I just want to say a big thank you to everyone who offered help and advice for this problem.

    I have now sorted everything on my phone and I am so happy to have it back and working!
    I got the Sat Nav programme by using the Switch Device facility on the DM software and copying it from my friends Curve. It's a good job I persuaded her to have the exact same BB from the same provider!

    Cheers folks.

    G x
    __________________________________________
    What would Scooby Doo?
    BB History - 9780, 9700, 8310, 8100, 7290, 7250


  11. #11
    yasmin87's Avatar
    yasmin87 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1
    sorry i'm having the same problems, how and when did your phone turn back on?

  12. #12
    jwaller89's Avatar
    jwaller89 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    14
    my red light won't come on at all! I've tried charging it all night, it won't come on. anybody got any ideas? btw bold 9000

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •