Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Hello, all! I need your help. I tried to install the newest 4.5 OS for ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    yoshiod9's Avatar
    yoshiod9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2412ee3b
    Posts
    56

    Lightbulb messed up during 4.5 OS install

    Advertisement



    Hello, all! I need your help. I tried to install the newest 4.5 OS for my 8300 and forgot to take off the PTT file so, stupidly, during the OS install, I deleted the ptt file and then the app loader said there was a problem. After that, I tried to reinstall and the error message i see is, "The desktop loader is unable to connect to the device. You may need to enter the password on the device."

    I don't have a password on my BB. I tried "0000" but that didn't work. Anyone have any ideas or am I totally screwed? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    go to C: program files/common files/research in motion/app loader and and click on the loader.exe file and see if that works
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

  3. #3
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by ealvnv View Post
    go to C: program files/common files/research in motion/app loader and and click on the loader.exe file and see if that works
    I agree, try this and if you still have issues please post back so we can try and see what needs to be done to get you back up and running.

  4. #4
    yoshiod9's Avatar
    yoshiod9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2412ee3b
    Posts
    56
    Tried that as well. I read a ton of threads before posting. I guess I should have said that, huh? haha. Any ideas?

  5. #5
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    have you tried with the above suggestion with out the battery?
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

  6. #6
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Have you tried wiping your device with jl_cmndr and then starting from scratch with NO os on your device?

  7. #7
    yoshiod9's Avatar
    yoshiod9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2412ee3b
    Posts
    56
    Doing so right now! I just tried again and it told me that I needed a password. :/

  8. #8
    yoshiod9's Avatar
    yoshiod9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2412ee3b
    Posts
    56
    No, I haven't wiped the device, yet.

  9. #9
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    If the other options don't work that would be my next suggestion. Unless you had a password preset then there is no reason it should be asking for one.

  10. #10
    yoshiod9's Avatar
    yoshiod9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2412ee3b
    Posts
    56
    Cool. Ok, so I took the battery out and the app loader seems to be working right now. Hopefully everything works! Thanks a bunch, guys.

    If it doesn't work out, I'll make sure to wipe it then try again. If that doesn't work, I'll be back! Haha. Thanks a ton, moderncowboy and ealvnv!

  11. #11
    yoshiod9's Avatar
    yoshiod9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2412ee3b
    Posts
    56
    New error message.

    "unable to connect during a multiload conncection."

  12. #12
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    try this steps
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

  13. #13
    yoshiod9's Avatar
    yoshiod9 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2412ee3b
    Posts
    56
    Tried the steps ealvnv suggested but the same error message came up. "Unable to reconnect to the device during a multi-stage load operation."

  14. #14
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Not sure if it will work but give this thread a try.

  15. #15
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    let see, you wiped?
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •