Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hi All, as you can tell by the name, Im new to BB. But a ... RIM Desktop Software forum

love my Treo no está en línea Stack level 1

Mangled DM Install or You Cant Get There From Here?

Advertisement

Hi All, as you can tell by the name, Im new to BB. But a friend has just switched from Palm to BB and since Im her technoslave, I know a WHOLE lot more than I did yesterday. (most of it here in the last 30 min!) The patient: a new Cingular 8700c. The problem: getting all the PIM data from the Treo 650 to the 8700. Then she can wirelessly sync with her Lotus Notes/BB Enterprise Server at work. (The reason for the switch in the 1st place)

Cingular salesman said it couldnt be done & a "tech-inclined" co-worker was also unsuccessful saying the DM 4.1 it came with was "outdated". Enter me. I d/l 4.2, installed it to an XP SP2 box, connected both devices to the laptop & ran the Switch Device Wizard, but I only get partial PIM transfer-Contacts looks good, but not all Calendar entries end up on the 8700.

So, I am trying to make a differential diag as to who the culprit is. Wrong ver of DM? Someone in Pinstack said "no 4.2 for any BlackBerry, except for the Pearl". Another said "You can not transfer files with any device but the 8100 Pearl using DM, even with 4.1 os and 4.1 DM" and another- "I use DM 4.2 all the time. Just don't expect it to work with the 4.2 OS specific functions, like Media Manager"