Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 47

i downloaded the desktop manager 5.0 for the blackberry pearl 8100, which i have. Restart ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #31
    them47's Avatar
    them47 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    69

    Advertisement



    i downloaded the desktop manager 5.0 for the blackberry pearl 8100, which i have.
    Restart
    Downloaded the 4.5 OS
    Restart
    Deleted the Vendor XML
    Removed my media card
    Opened desktop manager with the device in
    First step" CHECKING FOR UPDATES, and i get this message

    Handheld Application Loader Wizard has stopped working...
    A problem cause the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available..
    I Cant even update it, it says No updates are available..

  2. #32
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Sorry about your problems, them. It can be very frustrating.

    Sounds like you need to re-download the Desktop Manager. I'd recommend uninstalling 5.0 completely, but be advised that if you do it that way, it will probably remove your OS along with it in which case you will need to re-download the OS.

    By the way, Desktop Manager is NOT device specific......the OS is, so I'm hoping you meant that you downloaded the OS for the 8100.

    You obviously need to have a little patience to do these things, but we'll be here with you every step of the way!

    Roger

  3. #33
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Roger, Is DM 5.0 a problem for devices like the 8100 and OS 4.5 as far as you know. I haven't heard of any issue like that but I'm still using DM 4.6 so what would I know! (It was just a thought.)
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  4. #34
    them47's Avatar
    them47 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    69
    would i have a better chance using 4.6?

  5. #35
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    I can't say. 5.0 is probably fine. I just haven't had a need to upgrade from 4.6 so I haven't. 4.7 was a bit of a "toot" - I tried it and went back. Why don't you want to hear - I think Roger uses it (and others) - you might wait to hear from someone who uses 5.0 before you move away from it.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  6. #36
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I'm sorry.....been in and out this afternoon. I actually did mean to mention that you should try the 4.6 version as that is/was the most stable for most people.

    I'm using 5.0, but have yet to do an upgrade with it, so it's best to stick with the 4.6 DM for now.

  7. #37
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    I would have to agree with Roger. DM 4.6 would at least take one element of your problems out of the picture. I think it's one of the more stable pieces of software out there. Keep posting your progress and we'll get you through this.

    Roger, you've been a trooper in this thread - kudos!
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  8. #38
    them47's Avatar
    them47 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    69
    i cant even see any icons on Desktop Manager 4.6, it automatically shuts down

  9. #39
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    them,
    You have to be more specific in your posts. It's hard to figure out what you're saying! Did you install DM 4.6 on your p-c? Did you select the option to have it execute every time your p-c boot up? Have you re-booted your p-c just in case that would help? What have you done. Did you reinstall your BB OS - I'm assuming you lost it when you installed DM. Need more specific info?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  10. #40
    them47's Avatar
    them47 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    69
    do u know what version this is?

    http://www.blackberry.com/newsletter...ager-thumb.jpg

    this was the one i was using before i lost my disc

  11. #41
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by them47 View Post
    do u know what version this is?

    http://www.blackberry.com/newsletter...ager-thumb.jpg

    this was the one i was using before i lost my disc
    No, but it's older than 4.6. I don't remember where the format changed but it did and that's definitely an older version.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  12. #42
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    This link was posted in post #5 of this thread. Did you go there to download DM 4.5 or whichever one you want to install. You can only use/have one version installed on your p-c. Not sure which one you chose or are trying to use.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  13. #43
    them47's Avatar
    them47 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    No, but it's older than 4.6. I don't remember where the format changed but it did and that's definitely an older version.
    the older version was the one that worked for me

  14. #44
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    them47,

    Respectfully, you have enough info in this thread to do everything you need to do. All you have to do is go back and use it. Included in the link that was posted in post #5 and my post #42 are links some very old versions of Desktop Manager if you want to use them - personally, I wouldn't even consider going back beyond 4.6. The ball is in your court. Please, let us know if you need anything else.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  15. #45
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    So where are we in the process?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •