Results 1 to 7 of 7

I am supporting 70 users with 7250's, and 8703's in a BES 4.0 environment. I ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    dfrei's Avatar
    dfrei no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30164393
    Posts
    4

    Question Is the DST patche a must?

    Advertisement



    I am supporting 70 users with 7250's, and 8703's in a BES 4.0 environment. I am wondering since we are in a province where Daylight Savings Time doesn't apply, is this patch necessary and worth all the work. The only set back I can think of for not installing it is that when our users travel to other provinces/countries, the time will be off by one hour (but only for 3 weeks). Are my thoughts correct?

  2. #2
    Einherjer's Avatar
    Einherjer no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    842

    Re: Is the DST patche a must?

    Worth all the work? You just DL it OTA from BB's homepage o.O

  3. #3
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  4. #4
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: Is the DST patche a must?

    Agreed. Welcome to the Stacks!

  5. #5
    dfrei's Avatar
    dfrei no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30164393
    Posts
    4

    Re: Is the DST patche a must?

    The thing is that we have BES 4.0 with no Service Patches at all. This is a issue because we can't push it out using the BES unless we have SP5 or later. So the alternative is that we have to do this manually (connect every handheld to Desktop) to every handheld. In our organization, the users don't have the desktop manager installed on their computers (less tinkering).
    So I ask, is this worth the effort.

  6. #6
    Rooter's Avatar
    Rooter no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: Is the DST patch a must?

    We were in pretty much the same boat - about 65 users and BES 4.0 (sp1 or 2). The difference is, we HAD to do it because we're in BC. It wasn't as hard as I thought it was going to be though, we went to SP5a and then installed the required files on the server and we were off to the races. The only thing that we missed initially was the firewall was blocking the BES from the outside world so we had to open it up. We were under the impression that the patch was pushed to the handhelds and then the handhelds went to the blackberry site for the updates but as it turns out, it goes through the BES. Oh yeah, we use groupwise too so the thing that took the longest was waiting for the BES to start forwarding the mail again.

    Good luck.

    Peter

    PS - I think the patches include all of the previous patches so you should be able to jump right to SP5a. We had calendar issues that this fixed as well.

  7. #7
    dfrei's Avatar
    dfrei no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30164393
    Posts
    4

    Re: Is the DST patche a must?

    We are planning on upgrading to BES 4.1 in a couple of months. The answer I received from all of you is that it won't hurt to not install this DST patch.
    Is this right.

    Thanks for all the replies.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •