Results 1 to 11 of 11

all i jist got a new 8100 and i am in love with it. the ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    spirume's Avatar
    spirume no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    20

    intellisync error message

    Advertisement



    all
    i jist got a new 8100 and i am in love with it. the sissue i have is that when i sync my outlook contacts from my laptop at home i get this messge"unable to write or update application data". does anyone know how to go about fixing this.
    any help for the rookie is appreciated

  2. #2
    srl7741's Avatar
    srl7741 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    6,359
    Hi spirume,

    Also see http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...tellisync.html

    I think it should help with that questions better than i can type.

    Welcome to Pinstack btw.

  3. #3
    spirume's Avatar
    spirume no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    20
    is there a specify area on this link i should at?

  4. #4
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    spirume, Welcome to PinStack.

    That usually means you have a contact that is causing problems. It can be one with a blanks in all of the three Name fields (First, Last, Company) that are sync'ed, one with special characters in those fields, or an attachment in the notes section. You can narrow down the search for the offending on buy reviewing the Log file using the View Log button in syncronization/Configuration.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  5. #5
    spirume's Avatar
    spirume no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    20
    Thanks....it worked!!!!!!

  6. #6
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818
    Welcome to the Stacks Spirume. Glad your issue has been resolved.

  7. #7
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    Which was it spirume, No Names, Special Characters or an Attachment in the Notes section?

    Just Curious
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  8. #8
    foodgeek's Avatar
    foodgeek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2

    Question Re: intellisync error message

    Please ealborate. I have near 500 contacts. Am getting the same error message. When i open the log there are LOTS of entries. Specifically what am i looking for in the log?

    THANKS!

  9. #9
    foodgeek's Avatar
    foodgeek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: intellisync error message

    I FOUND IT!!! One of the first five entries had no first name. It was a company and only had the company name. Once I corrected this, it worked flawlessly.

  10. #10
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: intellisync error message

    foodgeek, Welcome to PinStack.

    Look for any one(s) that indicates an error.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  11. #11
    CSmith0203's Avatar
    CSmith0203 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5

    Re: intellisync error message

    I had the same issue with a user I support. I just went to the "Find" button(next to send/receive). Then just below that there should be a find toolbar that you can use to search. At the far right of that toolbar is "Options". Click that and go to Advanced Find. In this new window make sure it "looks for" contacts(at the top) then click on the "Advanced" tab. A little more than half way down you'll see "Field", click this and select "Frequently Used Fields" then select "First Name". The Condition should be "is empty". Then click "add to list". Continue those same steps for "Last Name" and "Company".
    I know that is long and drawn out but it will find any contacts in your Outlook contact list that are empty. Really helps if you have tons of contacts. You can then delete the totally empty one's or correct/fix/delete the one's that are partially empty. Once you do this...your Blackberry should synch.

    Hope this helps.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •