Results 1 to 8 of 8

When I sync my Blackberry, I get the following error: "Error retrieving information from system ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    safah's Avatar
    safah no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36

    Intellisync error

    Advertisement



    When I sync my Blackberry, I get the following error:

    "Error retrieving information from system table"

    Any knows what this is regarding?

    Thanks,
    Safah

  2. #2
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: Intellisync error

    What version of Blackberry Desktop Manager are you using?

  3. #3
    giamburrasca's Avatar
    giamburrasca no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    256223F9
    Posts
    348

    Re: Intellisync error

    safah, did it work ok before? If so, what might you have changed?

  4. #4
    safah's Avatar
    safah no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    36

    Re: Intellisync error

    hayden, it was version 4.1

    giamburrasca, i unistalled 4.1 and installed 4.0 and the error disappeared....I would have liked to have 4.1, but didn't have the patience to troubleshoot.

  5. #5
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Intellisync error

    safah, what version of OS is running on your 7100?

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  6. #6
    pashan's Avatar
    pashan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    31838639
    Posts
    5

    Re: Intellisync error

    I am currently having the same problem!!! It synced fine until today. Nothing changed between yesterday and today. I am running Blackberry Device Manager 4.1.0.9 and Blackberry 7130e Wireless Handheld (CDMA) v4.1.0.268

    CAN SOMEONE HELP ME!?!?!?!?!?

    I am a total newbie to Blackberry by the way... :-) Go easy on me...

    Thanks!
    ~p

  7. #7
    pashan's Avatar
    pashan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    31838639
    Posts
    5

    Re: Intellisync error

    Okay, for anyone who might come around with the same problem - I reinstalled Blackberry Desktop Manager and the problem went away...

    ~P

  8. #8
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Intellisync error

    pashan, Welcome to PinStack,

    Glad you got it fixed, without help even, and thanks for the update. Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •