Results 1 to 9 of 9

Please tell me there is a way to stop DM from searching for available device ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    dubie76's Avatar
    dubie76 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    358

    How to stop DM from searching for software?

    Advertisement



    Please tell me there is a way to stop DM from searching for available device software every dang time I try to add or remove an app. This takes forever, and cancell doesn't help any!!!

    AAAAHHHHH!!!
    Sprint Tour 9630
    OS 5.0.0.230 (Leaked)

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Have you downloaded and installed your device operating system to your desktop?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    Not that I'm aware of. It does this to automate the process of updating software.
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  4. #4
    dubie76's Avatar
    dubie76 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    358
    This is pissing me off. I am installing emobile pro. There are about 5 add ons that I want to add. Every time I select one, the darn DM searches for device software. I hate this. I just want to be able to find my own software.
    Sprint Tour 9630
    OS 5.0.0.230 (Leaked)

  5. #5
    bassvictim's Avatar
    bassvictim no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    HEAD
    Posts
    1,044
    I don't think you can get rid of that. It does it automatically as soon as you open DM. It checks for updates,don't think you can turn that off. It does this when you DL your device OS thats leaked or beta,and you delete the vendor xml, it will ask if you would lilke to update your software - usually core, if thats what your experiencing, then just move the shared file from the app loader in your program files, to another location like in your my documents folder. Hope that helped some....
    "I am a robot, I like robots, I have a robot vagina." -JP,Grandma's boy

  6. #6
    bassvictim's Avatar
    bassvictim no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    HEAD
    Posts
    1,044
    Quote Originally Posted by dubie76 View Post
    This is pissing me off. I am installing emobile pro. There are about 5 add ons that I want to add. Every time I select one, the darn DM searches for device software. I hate this. I just want to be able to find my own software.
    Yeah, you have to deal with that. Every time you select something in the app loader to add, it's going to search for available software - can't stop that,that's how it adds the add-on to the app loader.
    "I am a robot, I like robots, I have a robot vagina." -JP,Grandma's boy

  7. #7
    eyecon82's Avatar
    eyecon82 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    206
    does anyone else have the issue of updating their bb software...but then it keeps rechecking and telling you to download the same update you have already downloaded?

  8. #8
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    Try this:
    Go to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared\Loader Files and find the folder that has your device OS in it, for example mine is: 8900-v4.6.1.231_P4.2.0.108. Now all you need to do is just rename it so it doesnt say 8900.

    for example: 9900-v4.6.1.231_P4.2.0.108

    Now when the DM goes to look for software it doesnt find anything that matches your device which makes it faster. If you run into any problems close the DM and go rename the folder back to the original
    Looking for Wallpapers or Icons for making themes? I can help!

    Truth + Clarity = Power

    If you are going to take the time to respond... take the time to actually understand that to which you are responding.

  9. #9
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    Also you can add a different vendor.xml file to stop the DM from searching
    Looking for Wallpapers or Icons for making themes? I can help!

    Truth + Clarity = Power

    If you are going to take the time to respond... take the time to actually understand that to which you are responding.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •