Results 1 to 12 of 12

This has happened to me before and before I delete all my apps and themes, ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    clarkkent51ny's Avatar
    clarkkent51ny no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    305DA705
    Posts
    4,982

    Has anyone figured this out yet?????

    Advertisement



    This has happened to me before and before I delete all my apps and themes, I was wondering if anyone has figured out why this happens. My phone has been connecting fine to my DM. I been using it with no probs. All of a sudden just now, I went to install a theme and my DM wants to delete alllll my apps, themes, and games cause it says it doesnt recognize them. This is NOT the "no additional apps found for my device" problem. This happens every now and again. Has anyone figured out a way around this problem!? I really dont feel like deleting everything again.

    Bri
    This is my Blackberry. There are many like it, but this one is mine. Without me my Blackberry is useless. Without my Blackberry I am useless.

    BDG51@vzw.blackberry.net
    http://briandominic.vox.com/

  2. #2
    cwax's Avatar
    cwax no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    32DEF7BB
    Posts
    4,513
    That hasn't happened to be in a long long time, but it is annoying as hell; always try to load OTA if you can man; I have yet to see anything on that issue; I'll keep an eye out




  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    This is I beleive the 3rd report I have seen of this is the past 2-3 months. Your apps are still there, the modules exist and the apps work, but for some reason DM wont recognize them and insists on deleting....

    Interesting that one of the others was CherriC. (hmmm...which makes me wonder if this has to do with custom themes) following a Vlingo install (are you running Vlingo?). And as yet we have no clear cause and no solution other than re-loading everything.....

    Keep us posted!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    clarkkent51ny's Avatar
    clarkkent51ny no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    305DA705
    Posts
    4,982
    Yup and the last time this happened to me she wasn't sure what it was. Damn I guess I have to go ahead and delete.

    ¤Via Curvelicious¤

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Ok, if that was you before then only 2 instances, and it seems to be only you custom theme guys?

    Have you tried changing to a factory theme to see if it corrects?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    ok...let's go one step further.

    i make themes, DJSmooth makes themes and so does brian ... so ... maybe it has something to do with that. just grasping for straws at this point.

    i back up OFTEN

  7. #7
    clarkkent51ny's Avatar
    clarkkent51ny no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    305DA705
    Posts
    4,982
    I just did a back up yeasterday BEFORE I upgraded my OS to 4.5. Lol so I couldn't use that backup anyhow. I already deleted everything. I'm reinstalling as we speak. Grrr

    ¤Via Curvelicious¤

  8. #8
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    why can't u use the backup from yesterday?
    what's wrong with it?

  9. #9
    clarkkent51ny's Avatar
    clarkkent51ny no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    305DA705
    Posts
    4,982
    Then I won't have 4.5, right?

  10. #10
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    the backup is just your personal stuff and your apps. doesn't have anything to do with the OS

  11. #11
    clarkkent51ny's Avatar
    clarkkent51ny no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    305DA705
    Posts
    4,982
    Wish I knew that 45 mins ago. Aahhhh I thought the whole point of backing up before an OS upgrade was incase your BB went bananas!
    Last edited by clarkkent51ny; 07-21-2008 at 06:31 PM.

  12. #12
    sads25's Avatar
    sads25 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8
    i have had a similary problem. i have upgraded to OS 4. 5 and now everytime I try to use the desktop manager to install something it wants to go through the entire upgrade process again. Thoughts?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •