Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 56

I have posted this thread in the Experts Round Table...lets see if anyone has any ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #31
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Advertisement



    I have posted this thread in the Experts Round Table...lets see if anyone has any new ideas about the cause...

    In the meantime it goes without saying that I would perform frequent back ups if you are concerned about loosing data...
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  2. #32
    ellistai's Avatar
    ellistai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    250AE866
    Posts
    29
    yes, guess that's all i could do for the moment.

    and hopefully, this time it will last for a longer period of time before the connection failure comes up again.

    thank you all for your kind supporting...especially you, Gary! Thanks!

  3. #33
    ellistai's Avatar
    ellistai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    250AE866
    Posts
    29
    hi, CSO, sorry for hijacking your thread...my apology!

  4. #34
    ellistai's Avatar
    ellistai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    250AE866
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    I have posted this thread in the Experts Round Table...lets see if anyone has any new ideas about the cause...

    In the meantime it goes without saying that I would perform frequent back ups if you are concerned about loosing data...
    Hi, Gary, the same problem happened to me again today!!!

    It has been working all well since last time I encountered the problem, but without any clue, it just happened again now.

    Any lead fromthe Experts Round Table? Should I just wipe my handheld again?

    Desperated!

  5. #35
    ellistai's Avatar
    ellistai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    250AE866
    Posts
    29
    anyone please help?!

    the connection problem happens again.

    in brief, the connection with Desktop Manager worked fine, but then all a sudden, when i plug the USB cable, it firstly prompted for password which i keyed in, then it said "Failed to connect to the device. Please make sure that the device is properly connected and try again."!!

    However, i can still see the PIN of my device on the left-bottom corner of Desktop Manager!

    Please see the screen print:


    Any clue?

  6. #36
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    First I would suggest updating to a newer version of Desktop Manager. I would do a clean uninstall of the old one you are using then go to 4.5 or 4.6.

  7. #37
    ellistai's Avatar
    ellistai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    250AE866
    Posts
    29
    thanks cowboy!

    should i go all the way up to 4.7?

  8. #38
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by ellistai View Post
    thanks cowboy!

    should i go all the way up to 4.7?
    To many issues with 4.7 for now I would say stay with 4.5 or 4.6.

  9. #39
    ellistai's Avatar
    ellistai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    250AE866
    Posts
    29
    Got it, thanks! I will go for 4.5 then. For my 8707g, I believe I should go for the one without Media Manager, right?

    Do I have to download the "BlackBerry USB and Modem Drivers" as well?

  10. #40
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    They are included in the download and unless you plan on using media manager there is no reason to get it.

  11. #41
    ellistai's Avatar
    ellistai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    250AE866
    Posts
    29
    no luck, got 4.5 installed but same connection problem happens! please help!


  12. #42
    ellistai's Avatar
    ellistai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    250AE866
    Posts
    29
    would there be anything to do with local security thing? say the firewall stops me from communicate with 3rd party device? i have run out of clue!!!

  13. #43
    ellistai's Avatar
    ellistai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    250AE866
    Posts
    29
    any leads? please help!!

  14. #44
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    ellistai,

    Sorry to see this problem persists. In checking the BTSC, unfortunately this appears to be a known issue with with no known solution or workaround (and it appears in 4.5, 4.6, and 4.7)...not good news I know. Have we tried a new/different operating system version for the device yet?
    Last edited by GaryF; 01-06-2009 at 02:48 AM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #45
    ellistai's Avatar
    ellistai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    250AE866
    Posts
    29
    Thanks Gary. It's kind of relief, that knowing it's not me causing the problem!

    The version came with the device had worked well for a certain period of time. But I forgot what version that was...do you know? My device is 8707g!

    Or which version I would get the best luck with?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •