Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

OMG!!!!!!!! Is everone else having this is problem? I recently updated from a previous version, ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    Homeuser66's Avatar
    Homeuser66 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    208D9C8E
    Posts
    79

    Desktop Manager ver. 4.7 SLOW!!!!

    Advertisement



    OMG!!!!!!!!

    Is everone else having this is problem? I recently updated from a previous version, I think 4.2 or so to the new 4.7. When I sync'd my BB to my PC in the previous version, the sync would take all of 30 seconds or so. Now, with this updated ver. 4.7 it takes up to about 5-10 min to sync.

    If there is a fix for this, like a setting or something, please let me know. I think I might have to go back to the previous version soon....

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    I think DM 4.7 may have a few bugs in it. I went back to 4.6 immediately. Get some other opinions but this one may not be ready for prime time.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Seems there are a few issues for some users with 4.7. I haven't had issues with it but many have. I would probably do as you said and downgrade to 4.5 or .6. But if you do that you might think of a clean uninstall of 4.7 to avoid issues.

  4. #4
    artiesberry's Avatar
    artiesberry no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    32146C01
    Posts
    39
    I'm running Sprint CDMA 8130 4.3 OS, can I use 4.5, 4.6 Desktop Software? Does it have to be CDMA or are they all ok.
    Thank you,
    artie

  5. #5
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    I dont think your DTM is affected by what OS you have on your device, or if its GSM, 3G, or CDMA. I think its just a loading device to interact between your PC an your phone

  6. #6
    artiesberry's Avatar
    artiesberry no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    32146C01
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by chokem View Post
    I dont think your DTM is affected by what OS you have on your device, or if its GSM, 3G, or CDMA. I think its just a loading device to interact between your PC an your phone
    Thank you,
    artie

  7. #7
    Optimus's Avatar
    Optimus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    203
    well, i upgraded to 4.6 and it slowed down my pc dramatically; i mean even the startup would take about 5-7 min. (not kidding). i ended up using 4.5...don't know the differences from 4.5 and 4.7 but i figure it can't be that big of a change for me to endure the big slowdown.

  8. #8
    Homeuser66's Avatar
    Homeuser66 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    208D9C8E
    Posts
    79
    My issue wasn't the PC slowing down, mine was with the sync time with the phone. In other words, It would go through all 300+ address I have one at a time each about 3 seconds long..

  9. #9
    jsaradhi's Avatar
    jsaradhi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    411
    i have dm 4.7 and have no issues so far...

  10. #10
    rogerkint's Avatar
    rogerkint no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    If there is a problem, I haven't noticed. Wish I had a suggestion.
    I am Keyser Soze.

  11. #11
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by rogerkint View Post
    If there is a problem, I haven't noticed. Wish I had a suggestion.
    It seems that the newer devices aren't having issues but when you have older ones it seems there is nothing but trouble.

  12. #12
    Homeuser66's Avatar
    Homeuser66 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    208D9C8E
    Posts
    79
    Ahh, And I have an 8700g.....a little older device...

  13. #13
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by Homeuser66 View Post
    Ahh, And I have an 8700g.....a little older device...
    If you decide to revert back I would suggest going into c/program files/ common files and deleting the research in motion folder after you uninstal 4.7 and before installing 4.5 or .6.

  14. #14
    ElCamino's Avatar
    ElCamino no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    152
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I also notice that 4.7 was a lot slower then the older DM 4.2 that I had been using. So I went back to 4.2 using my Crackberry Storm.

  15. #15
    pshift's Avatar
    pshift no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    97
    4.5 - 4.6, PC was real slow booting up. 4.6 - 4.7 - speedier bootup times. No issues here using an 8330 and Vista OS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •