Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 40

Hello all, I am having the exact same problem too. I have tried the uninstall ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #16
    Asianmadrid's Avatar
    Asianmadrid no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    Advertisement



    Hello all,

    I am having the exact same problem too.

    I have tried the uninstall route and tried old versions but to no avail. I am using a 7100v which has been fine. I have a newer computer and have reinstalled but no....no good!!

    Anyone got any more cunning suggestions?

  2. #17
    Rudiger's Avatar
    Rudiger no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    Has anyone got a fix for this? Done a clean uninstall, downloaded new version and tried old one. Cleaned registry. Everything. Still NADA.
    This is the first and only time I've struck this problem and my client is getter p****d.

  3. #18
    desilegacy's Avatar
    desilegacy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    Hey all,
    I had the same exact problem as all of you. And yes it sucked.

    But thanks to user: geoffc32
    Here's how you FIX IT as posted somewhere on pinstack (i cant paste urls)

    Open a command prompt by clicking Start>Programs>Accessories>Command Prompt.
    Type the following: cd c:\program files\common files\research in motion\rimdevicemanager
    Press ENTER.
    Type the following: rimdevicemanager /regserver
    Press ENTER.
    Type the following: regsvr32 rimdevicemanagerps.dll
    Press ENTER.
    Type the following: exit
    Click Start>Run.
    Type the following: regsvr32 oleaut32.dll
    Click OK.
    Open BlackBerry Desktop Manager.

    THIS WORKS 100%.

  4. #19
    desilegacy's Avatar
    desilegacy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    Obviously, before you follow the above instructions, you should have the Blackberry DM already installed (whatever version you had). I just don't know what causes DM to not open like that. But anyway, it finally works!

  5. #20
    lordog34's Avatar
    lordog34 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    I'm having the EXACT opposite problem. I have the Desktop manager, but cannot get the device manager to open. I have an icon at the lower right that shows the properties, but does not open the program. I am trying to drag photos and music to load onto my BB, but can only do that through the Device manager. Help!

  6. #21
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    Lordog, what are your settings for the Media Card in Options/Media Card? Have you turned on Media Support when connected? Are you trying to get your media card to show up as a removable drive on your PC?

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #22
    lordog34's Avatar
    lordog34 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    I don't even have a media card yet. I'm just trying to save on the phone. The problem that Im having is that on my desktop, there is a Device Manager icon on the lower right hand side, but when I click on it, it only shows the "properties". I don't have the actual pop up thing I had before ever since I removed the program and upgraded it because I was having a problem with the syncing once I plugged in my phone. It removed the web icons. I have figured out how to fix that problem, but ever since upgrading the device/desktop manager, I don't have an area where I can drag pictures or music to the device. The program is totally different. Hope this makes sense.

  8. #23
    PoliceDog's Avatar
    PoliceDog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    "...But thanks to user: geoffc32..."

    Unbelievable. Worked perfectly!

    Got my BB Curve last Thursday (my 3rd BB). I spent 2 hours on the phone with Rogers Tier-1 Tech Support on Friday and they couldn't solve this problem. Then spent 2.5 hours with Rogers Tier-2 Tech Support on the phone last night and they couldn't solve this problem (they blamed it on my having WinPatrol installed).

    Emailed a computer-literate friend this morning to help me solve this and after a bit of judicious Googling he came up with this thread and passed it on to me.

    IMHO, geoffc32 deserves a medal!

  9. #24
    utmike20's Avatar
    utmike20 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    I have Vista Ultimate and I think I've tried just about every "fix" I've found on the net to get my Blackberry Desktop Software working but it continues to fail. Just like others, the software flashes on the screen and then disappears. I've tried enabling and disabling UAC, tried the command prompt tip above, done clean installations (including manually removing leftover pieces after uninstall, registering atl.dll and restarting). I've also tried changing the compatibily mode to WinXP SP2 both when installing and just trying to run the software. I continue to come up short (and the program is definitely not just getting minimized). Not sure how others got it to work in Vista but it just won't happen for me. I think I'm at that point where I'm going to give up on it - unless someone can offer a brilliant idea that can make this work on my machine. So I guess my next question is: Does anyone know of any other software (Vista compatible) that is available that can sync the BB with your computer (specifically with Outlook 2007 - Contact, Calendar, Tasks, etc)? Thanks for any help you can offer..
    Last edited by utmike20; 08-21-2007 at 07:24 PM.

  10. #25
    HuwSy's Avatar
    HuwSy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    155

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    Cant get mine to work either damb vista. think im goin back to linux, atleast that doesnt sync cos rim arent willing to put in th work, lol.
    Huw - www.huenik.com
    Bb 8220 4.6...

    I will test my hosting companys claims of unlimited webspace and unlimited bandwidth. Ideas?

  11. #26
    Valverde's Avatar
    Valverde no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    I had the same issue, Blackberry Tech Support did not help nor did my Provider Telus. I found the below post, claimed it worked 100% of the time but it didn't work for me and a few others here so I changed that to 95% of the time. You might want to try it first tho, it could help... On the other hand, below that original post, I tried removing v4.2.2 Service Pack 2 completely (follow directions) and reinstalling v4.2 Service Pack 1 (downloaded from BB web site). theis did the trick, it is now WORKING !!!

    THIS WORKS 95% of the time...

    Open a command prompt by clicking Start>Programs>Accessories>Command Prompt.
    Type the following: cd c:\program files\common files\research in motion\rimdevicemanager
    Press ENTER.
    Type the following: rimdevicemanager /regserver
    Press ENTER.
    Type the following: regsvr32 rimdevicemanagerps.dll
    Press ENTER.
    Type the following: regsvr32 oleaut32.dll
    Click OK.
    Open BlackBerry Desktop Manager.


    THIS WORKED FOR ME !!


    If by chance the above fails, remove BlackBerry Desktop Software v4.2.2 Service Pack 2 completely and install BlackBerry Desktop Software v4.2 Service Pack 1:

    Task 1 -
    Through Add/Remove, completely uninstall BlackBerry Desktop Software v4.2.2 Service Pack 2

    Task 2 -
    Delete the Research In Motion folders from the registry
    Click Start > Run.
    Type Regedit, and then click OK.
    In the Registry Editor, delete the Research In Motion folder located in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\
    Delete the Research In Motion folder located in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\
    Note: This key is not present in BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.0.
    Remove the BlackBerry Desktop Software folder under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Uninstall
    Note: Two keys exist at this location, for example they appear as the following:
    {<number>}
    BlackBerry {<number>}
    To determine what key to remove, click on each one until the display name on the right of the screen displays BlackBerry Desktop Software. Removing these keys removes the BlackBerry Desktop Software from the Add/Remove Programs list in Microsoft Windows. Leave the Registry Editor open to complete the next task.

    Task 3 -
    Delete the Pumatech or Pumatech Technology key from the registry (if present)
    Pumatech shared folders only exist in the registry for BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.0.1 and earlier.
    To delete the Pumatech and or Puma Technology key folders, complete the following steps:
    In the Registry Editor, delete the Puma Technology folder located in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\
    Delete the Pumatech key folder located in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\
    Close the Registry Editor.

    Task 4 -
    Delete the Research In Motion folders from your hard drive
    For Windows Vista
    Open Windows Explorer.
    Delete the Research In Motion folder in C:\Program Files (if present).
    Delete the Research In Motion folder in C:\Program Files\Common Files (if present).
    Delete the Research In Motion folder in C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Roaming
    When you are trying to delete the Research In Motion folder in C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Roaming and you are unable to find the AppData folder as it is a hidden file, follow the instructions below to show hidden files in a Windows Vista environment:
    Click the Start button to open the Folder Options and then click Control Panel.
    On the Control Panel, click Appearance and Personalization and click Folder Options.
    On the Folder Options, click on the View tab.
    Under the Advanced settings, click Show hidden files and folders and click OK.

    Task 5 -
    Delete the Pumatech folder from your hard drive (if present)
    To delete the Pumatech folder, complete the procedure that is appropriate to the BlackBerry Desktop Software version you have installed on your computer.
    If you are running BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.0 Service Pack 1 or later, delete the Pumatech Desktop Setup folder located in C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\
    If you are running a version of BlackBerry Desktop Software earlier than 4.0.1, delete the Pumatech Shared folder located in C:\Program Files\Common Files\
    Note: If you are unable to delete the Pumatech folder, rename it (e.g., Pumatech Shared_old).
    If the Pumatech software is being used by synchronization software for other personal digital assistants (PDAs), re-install the synchronization software.

    Task 6 -
    Restart the computer
    The BlackBerry Desktop Software should now be fully uninstalled. Restart the computer to make sure that all background processes are cleared from system memory.

    Good Luck !

  12. #27
    utmike20's Avatar
    utmike20 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    Thanks for the suggestion, but that didn't work either. I don't get why BB can't come out with a working release. People are spending hundreds to get BBs but they can't make software that works with the newest OS? The website says it works with Vista...but if they did a simple google search they would see that countless people are having the same issue and it simply doesnt work. Pretty unbelieveable..

  13. #28
    mclm's Avatar
    mclm no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    I've tried all the above suggestions and none of them worked for me. If anyone has any other suggestions they would be much appreciated. thanks.

  14. #29
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    Quote Originally Posted by mclm
    I've tried all the above suggestions and none of them worked for me. If anyone has any other suggestions they would be much appreciated. thanks.
    mc - welcome to the stacks!

    What is your situation now? We will need your Desktop OS, your DM version, and specifics on what you have tried and what the result is and we will try to help!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #30
    mariusu's Avatar
    mariusu no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Desktop Manager Not WORKING!

    heppens to me too... tried the 100% guaranteed method, it does not work. Windows Vista Ultimate, BB Pearl, Desktop Manager 4.2.2. (

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •