Results 1 to 7 of 7

Although I an running the latest desktop & phone operating software, every time I sync, ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    rja's Avatar
    rja
    rja no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    19

    Desktop manager always wants to update

    Advertisement



    Although I an running the latest desktop & phone operating software, every time I sync, the manager indicates that there's an update available for my phone's operating software but, when I play along & try to update it, it then states that my phone has the latest software.

    I've tried the battery pull, backing up, etc... with no success! Keeps wanting to update an up-to-date phone.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    The only fix for this I know is to go into add remove programs (programs and features on Vista) and click on the DM in the list when it ask to uninstall or repair select repair. Un select check for automatic updates and then continue. ~via smartphone~

  3. #3
    mikedoan's Avatar
    mikedoan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179
    I'll give that a go too... (so annoying..)
    BB 7100g (R.I.P.)
    BB Pearl 8100 (R.I.P.)
    BB BOLD 9000 (on the shelf)
    BB STORM (R.I.P.)

    iPhone4

  4. #4
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    The only fix for this I know is to go into add remove programs (programs and features on Vista) and click on the DM in the list when it ask to uninstall or repair select repair. Un select check for automatic updates and then continue. ~via smartphone~
    This is the method I used and it was a great solution.

  5. #5
    rja's Avatar
    rja
    rja no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    19

    Desktop manager always wants to update

    I'm getting an error locating a "msi" file so I'm going to have to try this when I have more time.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    rja's Avatar
    rja
    rja no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    19

    Desktop manager always wants to update

    Thank you to those whom made suggestions. Although I was never able to successfully perform the repair as suggested as I kepp getting an error that it couldn't find some msi file but, low & behold, I had to sync my phone tonight & there was no pop up indicating there was an update! It's disappeared! I hope it stays gone.

    I probably tried 5-6 times to perform the repair different ways without ever being able to do it but for some reason, it still appears to have repaired the problem.

    Thanks all!

  7. #7
    360Challenge's Avatar
    360Challenge no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    186
    Quote Originally Posted by rja View Post
    I'm getting an error locating a "msi" file so I'm going to have to try this when I have more time.

    Thanks
    This error occured probably because the installer couldnt find the original setup file.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •