Results 1 to 12 of 12

I am so confused. Sorry first day BB user here! I do not have a ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    monilovesedmond's Avatar
    monilovesedmond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    142

    Confused about Desktop Manager

    Advertisement



    I am so confused. Sorry first day BB user here!

    I do not have a data plan. Therefore, I cannot set up an e-mail account on my BB. Does that mean I can't install Desktop Manager? I keep getting errors when I try to. If not, how do I install applications on my phone?

    Thanks...

  2. #2
    siccmade's Avatar
    siccmade no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    687
    you shouldn't have a problem with dm just because you don't have a data plan make sure its the one for your device and the only way to download programs without a data plan is through your dm via application loader.



    WELCOME TO PINSTACK
    TMO:MYTOUCH 3G SLIDE
    ROM:SlideMeRoot5r1
    KERNEL:2.6.29-5F8ED14

  3. #3
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    Welcome to the Stacks! When I got my BB, my software that came w/it, was not up to date. I had to go to BB website to get updated version.

    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/

  4. #4
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859

  5. #5
    monilovesedmond's Avatar
    monilovesedmond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    142
    Well the problem right now is it won't even install Desktop Manager to my PC. I have the last OS for my 8100 and I downloaded the lated DM from BB. I'm at work right now but when I go home for lunch in a bit I can tell you more precisely what the error is that I am being given.

  6. #6
    monilovesedmond's Avatar
    monilovesedmond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    142
    Okay I have a Mac at work so I've downloaded and successfully installed PocketMac. Can I use this to install applications though?

  7. #7
    monilovesedmond's Avatar
    monilovesedmond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    142
    Okay I searched the forums and answered my own question. lol...

    I want to get it to work on my laptop at home though so I'll mess with it there tonight.

  8. #8
    PapaMag's Avatar
    PapaMag no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    Nadda
    Posts
    5,722
    Welcome to the stacks hope all works out. Shouldn't have any problems if you have the disc, but stranger things have happened

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    moni,

    If you need the desktop manager software there is a link in my blog to download it from RIM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    monilovesedmond's Avatar
    monilovesedmond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    142
    Gary,
    Yes I downloaded it from there. Still getting Error 2738. I have done everything I found to do while researching on here (attempting installing without media manager and running as admin) but it's still giving me the error. I have Vista. How can I get this to work??

  11. #11
    monilovesedmond's Avatar
    monilovesedmond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    142
    Okay so I tried downloading it from RIM using IE instead of FF. Still no bueno. I'm so frustrated!

  12. #12
    monilovesedmond's Avatar
    monilovesedmond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    142
    Hallelujah!!!!! It finally worked. I had to go unregister the vbscript.dll and then re register it, after downloading a new one. Ugh but it finally installed. lol

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •