Results 1 to 9 of 9

I'm tying to sync outlook calendar with my new 8820 with no success. FYI, I ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    Soonere39's Avatar
    Soonere39 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    12

    'Configure Sync' grayed out. Cant setup

    Advertisement



    I'm tying to sync outlook calendar with my new 8820 with no success.
    FYI, I have a company laptop and had to get an IT guy with Admin rights to install the desktop software.
    When I go to configute sync to set it up for outlook, that button is grayed out/not useable. Is there something I can or should do myself or might this be an issue with company security that I would need t o get the IT guy involved in again.
    I'm tying to keep IT out of it because the BB is unapproved software and the guy that did it really wasn't supposed to and doesn't want to get too involved with it.


    FYI- I searched the forums and didn't come up with this same situation.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319

    Re: 'Configure Sync' grayed out. Cant setup

    are you on a 3.6 BES or 4.0 and above BES?
    With 3.6 you need to synch using the desktop manager, 4.0 BES and above it is all done wirelessly.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  3. #3
    simonminshall's Avatar
    simonminshall no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    2068A03C
    Posts
    63

    Re: 'Configure Sync' grayed out. Cant setup

    Even so,
    Usually grey outs in the DTM mean you are not connect or online to your mapi profile. It will help your cause if you set wireless syn to no in each of the options (calendar, tasks, contacts, notes). Abit more drastic, the DTM installed incorrectly due to MAPI corruption. Sounds boring, have your IT perform a DTM reinstall.
    Simon Minshall
    Mobile Data Consultant
    www.mobileguy.co.uk
    0844 8845474

  4. #4
    Soonere39's Avatar
    Soonere39 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: 'Configure Sync' grayed out. Cant setup

    I'm set up as a BIS client. My company doesn't allow us BB useage yet. I'm using it for personal email and to sync with outlook so I have my calendar and contacts readily accessable while on the road. I travel a lot.
    We do haev a BES pilot program in the works but that means it will probably be over a year before they allow me BES access to use company email on the BB.

  5. #5
    Soonere39's Avatar
    Soonere39 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: 'Configure Sync' grayed out. Cant setup

    Quote Originally Posted by simonminshall
    Even so,
    Usually grey outs in the DTM mean you are not connect or online to your mapi profile. It will help your cause if you set wireless syn to no in each of the options (calendar, tasks, contacts, notes). Abit more drastic, the DTM installed incorrectly due to MAPI corruption. Sounds boring, have your IT perform a DTM reinstall.
    Ok, I can try that. Also for simplicity sake, I am using the USB connection instead of wireless connection, just to know it's one less thing that might go wrong.

    I'll try a reinstall and follow more closely with the selections during the reinstall. Unfortunatly, my company is still years behind the rest of the world technologically.
    Gotta go, Mr. Slate needs me back at the quarry and Barney is waiting on me.

    Fred F.

  6. #6
    gitchies's Avatar
    gitchies no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    235

    Re: 'Configure Sync' grayed out. Cant setup

    I'm having the same problem...are you running Vista? Vista doesn't have outlook, so i'm assuming you have to purchase MS office 2007? This dam Vista!!!

  7. #7
    Soonere39's Avatar
    Soonere39 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: 'Configure Sync' grayed out. Cant setup

    Running Windows 2000, not vista

  8. #8
    simonminshall's Avatar
    simonminshall no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    2068A03C
    Posts
    63

    Re: 'Configure Sync' grayed out. Cant setup

    as long as the Desktop Manager is installed as the BlackBerry Internet Service option, all you should really need to check on the device is that any wireless sycn option is set to "no".
    Qitchies - are yoy aware that Office 2003 DOES run on All versions of Vista. Got it running a dream on the pc I'm typing this on.
    Simon Minshall
    Mobile Data Consultant
    www.mobileguy.co.uk
    0844 8845474

  9. #9
    gitchies's Avatar
    gitchies no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    235

    Re: 'Configure Sync' grayed out. Cant setup

    So Office 2003 will work with Vista?.....nice!!! I just gotta now fetch a copy of 2003.,.....can't buy those new i would assume....

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •