Results 1 to 12 of 12

I currently have a pear I switched to a curve and I will be use ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    BBP's Avatar
    BBP
    BBP no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    289

    BDM 4.3 switching devices?

    Advertisement



    I currently have a pear I switched to a curve and I will be use for a while… I don’t want to restore from pearl to curve via desktops manager but when I connect the curve DTM is saying something about if I want to switch device but how can I stop that?[/FONT]
    [FONT=Calibri]Can I have more than BB with BDM? if not how can i delete my pearl PIN?

  2. #2
    PwDiamond's Avatar
    PwDiamond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    249df67d
    Posts
    102
    Hi BBP,

    Perhaps you could clarify your post a bit better, but I'm taking your question to be this:

    1.) You have a Pearl and want to continue to use it the way it is?
    2.) You now have a Curve, and want to use it independently and not "switch" from the Pearl (i.e. clone the settings from the Pearl to the Curve).
    3.) You'd like to use the Desktop manager to manage both of them?

    If I'm correct in interpreting your question, the answer is:

    1.) Yes, you can use more than one device with Desktop Manager; I don't know how in depth you want to get with it, as far as if you're using one for one email profile/account in Outlook, the other on a BES, etc., so I'm going to assume you're not using any messaging profiles... I have connected probably about 30 or 40 devices to my DM; It matches by PIN, etc.


    2.) The "Switch Device" option is a feature for doing just that - switching devices. It appears for everyone (I don't know which version of DM you're using but I'd be sure you're using 4.X)

    3.) If you're prompted for a "messaging profile" to use, that would require a further explanation most likely, so just let us know.

    Thanks, hope that helps.
    Last edited by PwDiamond; 03-19-2008 at 12:52 AM. Reason: grammatical error

    _____________________________________________
    So many policies, so little time :-D
    Los Angeles, CA
    BES Admin 4.1.5

  3. #3
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Yes you can have more than one BlackBerry device connected to one installation of Desktop Manager at the same time. I used to have a 77xx series, a 71xx series and an 8100 series backed up at the same time (I have recently deleted the 77xx and 71xx devices). The Desktop Manger will show the PIN of the BB connected at the time.

    I don't think it is possible to prevent DM from asking if you want to switch devices. Unless you are referring to the BIS asking if you want to change devices. You can select No if this is the case.


  4. #4
    BBP's Avatar
    BBP
    BBP no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    289
    I'm on BES and I'm using DM 4.3
    Erica how did you delete your 77xx and 71xx that is what i'm looking for...trying to delete my pearl pin

    Thanks

  5. #5
    PwDiamond's Avatar
    PwDiamond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    249df67d
    Posts
    102

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by BBP View Post
    I'm on BES and I'm using DM 4.3
    Erica how did you delete your 77xx and 71xx that is what i'm looking for...trying to delete my pearl pin

    Thanks
    BBP:

    I think you may have misinterpreted Erica's signature line as part of her response. The bottom line is that the Desktop Manager doesn't "Store" your profiles/settings for each device. It is merely a means of interacting with the handheld, allowing you to perform back-up's and restore's, synchronize certificates, work with your media, etc., and if you're on a BES, you would be prompted for a messaging profile to use (Probably "Outlook" would pop up).

    The device manager is basically wanting to know which messaging account the device is attached to, but you can simply hit escape and utilize the Desktop Manager to perform any of the operations which the IT Policy which has been applied to your device will allow.

    For instance, and without trying to get too detailed, let's say you had a personal device and a work device:

    -Your work device:

    is managed by a BES server and admin. The work device would have an IT policy assigned, most likely to force wireless reconciliation, so when you plugged that device into the USB cable to use the Desktop Manager, you'll notice that some advanced settings like "synchronization" of memo's, contacts, etc., are unavailable, because they are handled wirelessly, but there may be other things you can do like add ringtones, etc., via media manager if your IT policy allows.

    -Your personal device:

    Is managed by you (and to some extent your carrier and their default settings), so when you plug that device in, you could do just about anything with it within the realms of DM's capabilities. You can load apps, synchronize your address book with your personal Outlook address book, back it up, etc.

    The "Switch Device" option is always there (though may be grayed out if disallowed by your IT policy), it's like buying a car that has heated mirrors as a standard feature, and you live in Southern California or Florida... you may never push that button, but it's there


    Just to reiterate, DM doesn't really keep tabs on each device, it does what you tell it to and you can plug 50 different devices into it and it won't make a difference... the only time it would "link" for lack of a better term--two different devices would be if you DID use the "switch device" wizard to actually migrate your settings, etc. to a new device. (like if you took your car with the heated mirrors into the mountains for some skiing?

    I hope that clears up all of your questions/confusion. Let me/us know if you need any further help or clarification.
    Last edited by PwDiamond; 03-19-2008 at 03:32 AM. Reason: Grammar

    _____________________________________________
    So many policies, so little time :-D
    Los Angeles, CA
    BES Admin 4.1.5

  6. #6
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by PwDiamond View Post
    BBP:

    I think you may have misinterpreted Erica's signature line as part of her response.
    No misinterpretation. I have had the devices listed in my signature. Anyway I deleted the devices by simply deleting the backups stored on my PC in Desktop Manager.


  7. #7
    PwDiamond's Avatar
    PwDiamond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    249df67d
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    No misinterpretation. I have had the devices listed in my signature. Anyway I deleted the devices by simply deleting the backups stored on my PC in Desktop Manager.
    Not what I meant by misinterpretation... I meant that it seemed as though he thought your signature was a listing of devices "stored" in your Device Manager... I was trying to clarify that Desktop Manager doesn't "store" data unless you tell it to (see next paragraph); I just want to be sure he understands that unless he takes action manually (such as you did by creating backups of your devices) there's no data kept in DM.

    Just to clarify, even backups aren't stored in DM, they would of course just be files placed wherever one might choose to save them, whether it be a network location, thumb drive, or simply your documents folder.

    I will add that being on the BES however, (depending on the version your company has implemented) your company may have your device set to wirelessly backup at set intervals. I have ours set to every 48 hours... those files and content are stored in the SQL database on the server though, not in DM.

    _____________________________________________
    So many policies, so little time :-D
    Los Angeles, CA
    BES Admin 4.1.5

  8. #8
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Thanks for the clarification.


  9. #9
    lauren25's Avatar
    lauren25 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,107
    When you use the "Switch Device" wizard, let's say from a Pearl to a Curve I know that all the information from the Pearl will transfer to the Curve. What I don't know is if that same information will get deleted from the Pearl? Or will it remain on both BB's.

    Another question is when using this "Switch Device" wizard, what exactley does it transfer? Are 3rd party applications included?
    ~Lauren

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    From my experience your data will remain on both devices. 3rd party apps are hit and miss....be prepared to reinstall them (all of mine transfered).
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    lauren25's Avatar
    lauren25 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,107
    Thanks GaryF, very helpful as usual
    ~Lauren

  12. #12
    PwDiamond's Avatar
    PwDiamond no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    249df67d
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by lauren25 View Post
    When you use the "Switch Device" wizard, let's say from a Pearl to a Curve I know that all the information from the Pearl will transfer to the Curve. What I don't know is if that same information will get deleted from the Pearl? Or will it remain on both BB's.

    Another question is when using this "Switch Device" wizard, what exactley does it transfer? Are 3rd party applications included?
    Hi Lauren25,

    I know there have been a couple of responses to your question but I wanted to add a couple bits:

    1.) The switch device wizard does not remove data from the old device, it is left intact in case of a failure in the transfer or other foreseeable circumstance. I actually ran into this last week, I started the switch device wizard, it mirrored everything from the old device and cached it, but I never finished it because I had a fire to put out and got pulled away (it was for my own device).

    2.) Depending on the model, you decide whether or not to transfer third party apps and settings in the second part of the wizard.

    3.) If all goes according to plan and you request app transfers, your new device will be just like the old; I never used to use this feature, thinking it to be a basic utility for BIS/non-data users... I would always just do a backup / restore (I have the BES set up to do these wirelessly every 2 days)... but the little (and annoying) things wouldn't transfer, such as personalization of ringtones, hidden icons and folders, wallpaper.

    Also, if your DM is on the same network as the BES and can route right through, it initializes itself during the procedure.

    _____________________________________________
    So many policies, so little time :-D
    Los Angeles, CA
    BES Admin 4.1.5

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •