Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

I just got my new, unlocked, 8700 g. The desktop software it came with is ... RIM Desktop Software forum

  1. #1
    akillika's Avatar
    akillika no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20424034
    Posts
    14

    8700g software q's

    Advertisement



    I just got my new, unlocked, 8700 g.

    The desktop software it came with is 4.1.0.10.

    The software on the actuall blackberry is 4.1.0.284 (Platform 2.0.0.120)

    Now, I know there is a 4.2. I just don't want to screw this thing up. I have it running on T-Mobile.

    Can anyone explain to me what I should do to update without screwing anything up?

    Thanks :P
    I'm a Business Manager for PoE.T.s Music. Please check out the artists. I thank you for your support.
    - Lucas G.

    J. Caesar

    PoE.T.s Music

  2. #2
    dasupaman23's Avatar
    dasupaman23 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: 8700g software q's

    Doesn't sound like you need to update anything. you can update the Desktop Software but the device seems like it would be fine. Desktop Manager is just what loads applications,sync's,backup and restores the device. You can find it here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...oad_usage.html

  3. #3
    mrnoname's Avatar
    mrnoname no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,805

    Re: 8700g software q's

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    What Dasupaman said is right on the money. I would just sit back and enjoy your new Blackberry. Just keep an eye on the forums for the new 4.2 os that we ALL are waiting for. Sorry I can't give an idea as to time of release. None of us know that at this time. Sorry.

  4. #4
    akillika's Avatar
    akillika no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20424034
    Posts
    14

    Re: 8700g software q's

    that's cool. I just wanted the 4.2 cause you can do stuff with media on the phone?

    I also need to configure my gmail. I wish I knew how.
    I'm a Business Manager for PoE.T.s Music. Please check out the artists. I thank you for your support.
    - Lucas G.

    J. Caesar

    PoE.T.s Music

  5. #5
    dasupaman23's Avatar
    dasupaman23 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: 8700g software q's

    To set up gmail just log into your BIS and add the account. Or you can do it thru your phone. Use the Set-Up Internet Email icon.

  6. #6
    akillika's Avatar
    akillika no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20424034
    Posts
    14

    Re: 8700g software q's

    what is my BIS?


    I'm a Business Manager for PoE.T.s Music. Please check out the artists. I thank you for your support.
    - Lucas G.

    J. Caesar

    PoE.T.s Music

  7. #7
    akillika's Avatar
    akillika no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20424034
    Posts
    14

    Re: 8700g software q's

    I dont see any kind of browser on here and under tools, none is set up.
    I'm a Business Manager for PoE.T.s Music. Please check out the artists. I thank you for your support.
    - Lucas G.

    J. Caesar

    PoE.T.s Music

  8. #8
    dasupaman23's Avatar
    dasupaman23 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: 8700g software q's

    When you log into tmobile.com (my-tmobile), you can change the phone you have. When you change it to your BB, there will be an option to set up blackberry email. Just follow the instructions. Also you will need the Blackberry data plan to have this feature. If you don't already have a my-tmobile account it's very easy to set one up. Just follow the steps on tmobile.com.

  9. #9
    akillika's Avatar
    akillika no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20424034
    Posts
    14

    Re: 8700g software q's

    I am getting my chic to call them. I just loaded Opera mini on here. It said it couldn't find a network connection. Obviously I need to get the t-mobile plan. Will I need to add a program or anything once tmobile hooks me up?

    This is an unlocked 8700g from suncom.
    I'm a Business Manager for PoE.T.s Music. Please check out the artists. I thank you for your support.
    - Lucas G.

    J. Caesar

    PoE.T.s Music

  10. #10
    dasupaman23's Avatar
    dasupaman23 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: 8700g software q's

    Yeah as long as you use it on Tmobile, my directions should work. You might have to get the PIN and IMEI released from Suncom tho.

  11. #11
    akillika's Avatar
    akillika no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20424034
    Posts
    14

    Re: 8700g software q's

    It's unlocked. How can I tell if I need to get someone to do something to it?

    I hope I didn't get screwed.

    Can you transfer mp3's on this puppy? use them as ringtones?
    I'm a Business Manager for PoE.T.s Music. Please check out the artists. I thank you for your support.
    - Lucas G.

    J. Caesar

    PoE.T.s Music

  12. #12
    akillika's Avatar
    akillika no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20424034
    Posts
    14

    Re: 8700g software q's

    t-mobile just added data to my plan. hmmm, where to go from here...
    I'm a Business Manager for PoE.T.s Music. Please check out the artists. I thank you for your support.
    - Lucas G.

    J. Caesar

    PoE.T.s Music

  13. #13
    akillika's Avatar
    akillika no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20424034
    Posts
    14

    Re: 8700g software q's

    I got tmobile on the line to fix me up.

    Thanks for your help :P
    I'm a Business Manager for PoE.T.s Music. Please check out the artists. I thank you for your support.
    - Lucas G.

    J. Caesar

    PoE.T.s Music

  14. #14
    bunita's Avatar
    bunita no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: 8700g software q's

    Quote Originally Posted by akillika
    I just got my new, unlocked, 8700 g.

    The desktop software it came with is 4.1.0.10.

    The software on the actuall blackberry is 4.1.0.284 (Platform 2.0.0.120)

    Now, I know there is a 4.2. I just don't want to screw this thing up. I have it running on T-Mobile.

    Can anyone explain to me what I should do to update without screwing anything up?

    Thanks :P
    Hi
    how i can get that t-mobile software
    can you help me

  15. #15
    bunita's Avatar
    bunita no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: 8700g software q's

    hi need The desktop software for tmobile how i can find it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •