Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Welcome to the new BIS. Unless you like calling your service provider, only use a ... Smartphone News forum

  1. #1
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    Advertisement



    Welcome to the new BIS.

    Unless you like calling your service provider, only use a computer when setting up email on your BlackBerry™ for the first time.

    What is happening, is the new BIS is bypassing the username/password setup for BIS accounts, and taking you directly into email setup.

    Not a big deal, except since you don't create a username/password for the BIS, you won't be able to go to provider.BlackBerry™.com to access your BIS.

    If you find youself locked out, you will need to contact your service provider and have them create a bis username and login password for your account.

  2. #2
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    Thanks for the info.

    Is this accross the board with all carriers, or just Sprint? (i think you're sprint can't remember)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  3. #3
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    Across the board.

    And thankfully, no, I am not with Sprint.

  4. #4
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    ^^LOL, thanks for the info Nate
    See the Official Latest OS threads updated regularly for All Devices.
    Forum Rules
    PinStack Trust Guide


  5. #5
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by N8DBB View Post
    And thankfully, no, I am not with Sprint.
    I heard that.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  6. #6
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by j llama View Post
    I heard that.
    I would rather shoot myself in the face with an Elephant Gun.

  7. #7
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by N8DBB View Post
    Welcome to the new BIS.

    Unless you like calling your service provider, only use a computer when setting up email on your BlackBerry™ for the first time.

    What is happening, is the new BIS is bypassing the username/password setup for BIS accounts, and taking you directly into email setup.

    Not a big deal, except since you don't create a username/password for the BIS, you won't be able to go to provider.BlackBerry™.com to access your BIS...
    I had this problem with my Verizon 8130. When I went to BIS via PC it said that I had to do it from my BB. Eventually I found where to create the username/password but yeah it skips that.

  8. #8
    ozrial's Avatar
    ozrial no está en línea BB Themes Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    271

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    I have spoken to RIM about this. What they "were able to tell me" regarding it is that it is part of some upcoming changes being made to BIS that will enable users to manage the account entirely from the hand held. It is actually some steps that will enable them to make changes that should in theory make it much easier, and negate any need to ever login to the website itself. I noticed the change the day it was implemented, and was not really a fan. If you find yourself in this situation, your service provider should have access to the administration site in which they can add a user name and password to the account you created, thereby making it accessible via html browser again. Hope that helps!!!
    ...:: OZ ::...
    "Marriage is like sitting in a bathtub, once you get used to it - its not so hot"


  9. #9
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by N8DBB View Post
    I would rather shoot myself in the face with an Elephant Gun.
    .... Nate, seriously you crack me up!!
    See the Official Latest OS threads updated regularly for All Devices.
    Forum Rules
    PinStack Trust Guide


  10. #10
    applejosh's Avatar
    applejosh no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    346

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    In some instances, I could not set it up from the website. I kept getting an error amounting to something about the device not being provisioned for the network. I can't remember if it was from Sprint/Nextel or Verizon, but once I created the email account using the Blackberry, I created a username as part of the process so I could access it from the web (my preferred way). It wouldn't let me do it from the web to start with, though. (And heaven knows I tried because I really don't like using the blackberry to manage the account. The full fledged web site is just easier and faster.)
    applejosh
    iPhone 4 (AT&T)
    OS 4.3

  11. #11
    KriK's Avatar
    KriK no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    228

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    I've been able to bypass this by going directly to the browser and going to hxxp://service_provider.blackberry.com This allows you to enter a new user login and password.

    I hope this helps someone!?

  12. #12
    srl7741's Avatar
    srl7741 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    6,359

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    I wish i would have read this thread about 4 hours ago. Guess what i did? DOH!
    I was setting up a new 8830.

  13. #13
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028
    Quote Originally Posted by srl7741 View Post
    I wish i would have read this thread about 4 hours ago. Guess what i did? DOH!
    I was setting up a new 8830.
    8830?!?!?!

    WHY, STEVE WHY?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

  14. #14
    srl7741's Avatar
    srl7741 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    6,359

    Re: Do NOT use BlackBerry for Initial Email Setup. Use a computer.

    Work gave it to me to use, otherwise I would never carry this Monster of Pancake that resembles a Blackberry.

    Seriously tho....nice phone I like it much better than the Curve, just waaaaayyyyy to big.

  15. #15
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028
    Quote Originally Posted by applejosh View Post
    In some instances, I could not set it up from the website. I kept getting an error amounting to something about the device not being provisioned for the network. I can't remember if it was from Sprint/Nextel or Verizon, but once I created the email account using the Blackberry, I created a username as part of the process so I could access it from the web (my preferred way). It wouldn't let me do it from the web to start with, though. (And heaven knows I tried because I really don't like using the blackberry to manage the account. The full fledged web site is just easier and faster.)
    You can still create from the website. It just says "your device isn't registered with the network".

    Most people who are switching from one BlackBerry™ device to another BlackBerry™ device on the same carrier, actually need to go and switch their pin and imei/hex first before the switch.

    If you don't, it will suspend your BIS account because a different device is trying to access it after the fact.

    You can set it up before you do the swap, just make sure that after the swap you resend your service books.

    So, if you are getting a new bb with the same carrier, before you do the swap (VZW/Sprint) log into your BIS, change the pin and esn, and then do the swap.

    If you don't, you will have to call them and get them to unsuspend it, and if you have sprint, you get 30 minutes of that "dooh dooh dah dooh dooh...dat dat dat dah...dooh dooh dah dooh dooh, dat dat dat dah..." Music.

    (Anyone who has ever called Sprint bb support knows that song by heart)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •