Results 1 to 9 of 9

RIM is making internal changes to ensure that a massive outage of its BlackBerry e-mail ... Smartphone News forum

  1. #1
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    RIM moves to prevent another BlackBerry outage

    Advertisement



    RIM is making internal changes to ensure that a massive outage of its BlackBerry e-mail service like the one that hit thousands of North American users this week doesn't happen again, its co-chief executive said on Friday.

    "It's very rare that we have these events," Jim Balsillie told Reuters in an interview.
    "I think it's pretty likely that the systems are in place that this kind of thing, as incredibly unlikely as it is to happen, is all the more unlikely to happen again," he said.

    Read More

  2. #2
    melerant's Avatar
    melerant no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    32C029E1
    Posts
    549

    Re: RIM moves to prevent another BlackBerry outage

    I hope so... I'm still not getting all my E-MAILS?
    Ladies and Gentleman we are floating in space....
    "God didn't do that, you did that you fat @#$%"

  3. #3
    mwillwerth's Avatar
    mwillwerth no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: RIM moves to prevent another BlackBerry outage

    Mine works now thankfully. I was worried because I just got the BB and I'm paying a lot more than I'm used to and I was thinking oh no I hope I don't have problems like this. But it's all good
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    HeywoodJ's Avatar
    HeywoodJ no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    pm me
    Posts
    280

    Re: RIM moves to prevent another BlackBerry outage

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~are you kidding my best friend still can't receive e mails I sent three back to back all with <confirm> in the subject line and nothing and his phone goes straight to vm if he's on the line and no pins only I'm
    And my sprint data is slower then the iden unit I just got rid of
    After spending hundreds of fu*!ing
    Dollars and twenty dollars a month more I have a slow connection even the browser is dial up slow and some emails take an hour if they ever get to the person. WTF rim if this don't work out by the end of the cycle I am taking this broad band slug back and going to but three Q s and still have money left over
    And c/s at sprint don't help much

  5. #5
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945

    Re: RIM moves to prevent another BlackBerry outage

    My device is working now. I'm glad. That was really frustrating and I'm normally a very patient person. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    Tim Lau's Avatar
    Tim Lau no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: RIM moves to prevent another BlackBerry outage

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    tdawg's Avatar
    tdawg no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    241F06A2
    Posts
    544

    Re: RIM moves to prevent another BlackBerry outage

    Apparently they are doing work on the network because my service keeps going in and out. I am only getting GSM now, no edge, no EDGE....

  8. #8
    gschoelles's Avatar
    gschoelles no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    21

    Re: RIM moves to prevent another BlackBerry outage

    Sounds like some people are confusing the service that rim provides with the services that their telcom provides.
    Good luck

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    Strangerous's Avatar
    Strangerous no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    30072082
    Posts
    5

    Re: RIM moves to prevent another BlackBerry outage

    I don't know why, but my BlackBerry 7250 keeps going to a blank screen, and my red light blinks a few times, and when i try to turn the device on it gives me an hourglass for a few minutes before resuming normal operation. This happened to me 4 times last night, between the hours of midnight to 5 am. Is this RIM's network going in and out?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •