Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21

Originally Posted by camattin All 8830s have GPSs. Verizon just cripples the one in their ... Smartphone News forum

  1. #16
    calm_tiger's Avatar
    calm_tiger no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,418

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by camattin View Post
    All 8830s have GPSs. Verizon just cripples the one in their VZW branded ones.
    Wow-that has to have customers perturbed.

  2. #17
    calm_tiger's Avatar
    calm_tiger no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,418

    Re: MapQuest Navigator 5.0 - In-Car GPS Navigation using BlackBerry

    That has to be unsettling for verizon customers.

  3. #18
    iamgoofy's Avatar
    iamgoofy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    210ca18d
    Posts
    560

    Re: MapQuest Navigator 5.0 - In-Car GPS Navigation using BlackBerry

    Link says does NOT support at&t curve 8310
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #19
    pegb856's Avatar
    pegb856 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    A Colata
    Posts
    264

    Re: MapQuest Navigator 5.0 - In-Car GPS Navigation using BlackBerry

    I've been using Mapquest for months and although it is not exactly the same as Telenav in features, it does however download that corridor of information as stated in the video. What that means is, it temp saves that information on the Blackberry so that if you navigate into an area that does not have data coverage you will not lose your map information and as long as you stay on route you do not have to have a data connection 100% of the time. This is the thing that Telenav does not have and was the deciding factor in me choosing Mapquest over Telenav. I must also add that I called both companies support # and verified that this is fact. I used Telenav before the new Mapquest 5 was released so I have 1st hand experience with both. The only thing that I really don't like about Mapquest is that when I map a route from inside my home (or anywhere else for that matter that is not directly on a road) the app. will tell me to please get on the road and won't show me the route until I do so, however it will allow me to access the map overview and see the route that way. This is not a big enough deal to me to give up the corridor download feature to go back to Telenav.

    Just my opinion! Happy Berrying!!

  5. #20
    pegb856's Avatar
    pegb856 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    A Colata
    Posts
    264

    Re: MapQuest Navigator 5.0 - In-Car GPS Navigation using BlackBerry

    Quote Originally Posted by iamgoofy View Post
    Link says does NOT support at&t curve 8310
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I have the 8310 and it works just fine. You may need to access the Mapquest website directly and download that way. Just make sure you choose ATT as your provider, nomatter what network you are on.


    Happy Berrying!

  6. #21
    salbo's Avatar
    salbo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    31884ae9
    Posts
    125
    Sorry.....Tttttttelenav! This sounds like a more affordable version. Maybe with some added AOL features. I'm still sticking with telenav.I would rather use gmaps than mapquest any day ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •