Results 1 to 12 of 12

Software For BlackBerry® 8820 smartphone BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.5.0.108 (EastAsia) Package Version: 4.5.0.108 Consisting of: ... Smartphone News forum

  1. #1
    salvatoretri's Avatar
    salvatoretri no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2457af8e
    Posts
    295

    Thumbs up Latest OS: 8820 4.5.0.108 / 4.5.0.81 (English + East Asian Languages)

    Advertisement



    Software For BlackBerry® 8820 smartphone

    BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.5.0.108 (EastAsia)

    Package Version: 4.5.0.108
    Consisting of:

    * Applications: 4.5.0.81
    * Software Platform: 2.7.0.78
    * File name: 8820EastAsia_PBr4.5.0_rel108_PL2.7.0.78_A4.5.0.81_ Voda_Australia.exe
    * File size: 73.83MB
    Download Link: https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...19656875EE557C

    Instructions for installing on ANY 8820 (regardless of carrier)

    1. Make sure you have Desktop Manager 4.2 SP2 or higher installed.
    2. Download the above file to the PC then install it to the PC by running (double clicking) the OS file you downloaded.
    3. Locate the vendor.xml file and delete it. It's located in c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader
    4. Plug in BB and Open Desktop Manager. You should be prompted to upgrade.
    The process takes about 45 minutes to an hour depending on how much data you have to backup and restore during the process. Once it's done loading the new OS it will reboot (it may do this twice during the entire process.) You will see a white screen with an hourglass for up to 20 minutes at a time while the DM says "waiting for initialization."
    If you end up with a white screen with small icons and the number 507, simply connect to DM again and run application loader again and it should load the OS to the device.

    Prev. version of OS: http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...ilanguage.html

  2. #2
    musicbizguy's Avatar
    musicbizguy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    Sorry in advance for the ignorant question but I have an 8820 on AT&T and am in Los Angeles, I noticed you state: v4.5.0.108 (EastAsia). does this mean I can't use it here in the States?
    Thanks very much in advance.

  3. #3
    salvatoretri's Avatar
    salvatoretri no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2457af8e
    Posts
    295
    no, you can definitely us in the US....just follow the directions and delete the vendor file. Once you do that and connect to DM, it the OS will automatically update.


    Good Luck

  4. #4
    jdow2405's Avatar
    jdow2405 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    30FE9E83
    Posts
    219
    I Must Be Completely Ignorant, It Does Update Anything
    Someone Help Or Pm Me Pls
    Pin:31a6c3e9

  5. #5
    forgot2wipe's Avatar
    forgot2wipe no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    17
    does this work with a 8800. if not, what is the newest upgrade for the 8800

  6. #6
    Joe4pal's Avatar
    Joe4pal no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    137
    No this will not work for the 8800, and sorry I don't know what the newest OS is for it.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    theexecutive's Avatar
    theexecutive no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    20D19B3B
    Posts
    3
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Are there any new features with this OS?

  8. #8
    guruleenyc's Avatar
    guruleenyc no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    71
    Has anyone had any issues with performing this 4.5 release on a AT&T 8820 in US?

    I am going to try it today....hopefully I want end up throwing a "brick" through the window......!

  9. #9
    guruleenyc's Avatar
    guruleenyc no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    71
    Okay; it was slightly bumpy, but I my AT&T 8820 is now running 4.5 it appears...

    Some issues I ran into were:

    1. After approx. 30min of waiting to reconnect for restoration during upgrade, I received a blank screen w/500 error with reset option
    2. I reset and it appeared to boot to default settings fine
    3. Manually restored data/settings using DM

    Appears fine so far....
    Last edited by guruleenyc; 10-13-2008 at 09:42 AM.

  10. #10
    Kn0xy's Avatar
    Kn0xy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by salvatoretri View Post
    Software For BlackBerry® 8820 smartphone
    About 30 minutes into the update on my AT&T 8310 (Curve), so far so good. Thank you for the information! Greatly Appreciated!

    Update: Everything went smooth! Took about 50 minutes for the entire process. Thanks again!

    - Knox
    Last edited by Kn0xy; 10-17-2008 at 03:33 PM.

  11. #11
    Flyin18T's Avatar
    Flyin18T no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    54
    Taking the plunge now.....wish me good luck.

    8820 on T-Mo

    btw....great post SALVATORETRI !!!
    Last edited by Flyin18T; 11-04-2008 at 09:57 PM.

  12. #12
    Flyin18T's Avatar
    Flyin18T no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    54
    Phew....all good to go! I referred to this thread 100% in order to do this. Thx again for the info!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •