Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 42 of 42

Btw your not missing much the voice recognition component is awful- and you can't really ... Smartphone News forum

  1. #31
    mcm180's Avatar
    mcm180 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    mcm180
    Posts
    1,117

    Advertisement



    Btw your not missing much the voice recognition component is awful- and you can't really search for business name - you search by category

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~


    ok so i kept messing with it now that i'm not at work... and actually found out that it can find specific business ... I searched for Macy's and it worked, well kinda. I live like 600 feet from a Macy's and it failed to list it on the map.

    Ironically enough, for right now, I found it better to use vLingo ;

    i pressed my right hand convenience key and stated "google search, Macy's 10704" .. and boom

    it works like a charm with the new Google Blackberry modification.


    the technology wave seems to be surging and things keep getting better and better for us crackberry-heads .. hahahhaahha
    Last edited by mcm180; 07-04-2008 at 03:06 AM. Reason: new findings

  2. #32
    disctosser's Avatar
    disctosser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me!
    Posts
    147
    Heres what I have tried:

    -I tried the links posted here.

    -I went directly to the GMM site and dl'd OTA

    -I had them SMS me a link.

    -I tried installing overtop the old version

    -I uninstalled and then reinstalled.

    I guess I am back to Vlingo. I just don't like that I can't get Vlingo results to come up in GMM. I like being able to speak to my phone while in the car and using my headset. I just wish I could use GMM a little more safely while driving, and being able to search in GMM by speaking to it would be glorious.

  3. #33
    xattica's Avatar
    xattica no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    GA
    Posts
    339
    Remember to install version 2.2.1. The first link sent you to 2.2.0.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #34
    xattica's Avatar
    xattica no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    GA
    Posts
    339

  5. #35
    jsaradhi's Avatar
    jsaradhi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    411
    it dint work for me on my curve 8300 with 4.5.0.42...i have vlingo installed and not sure how it effects it....but the error i keep getting in gmaps is that my signal is weak...but vlingo works just fine...i have 2-3 bars! so idk...will try again later when i'm outside.

  6. #36
    tfrankson's Avatar
    tfrankson no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2845FBAD
    Posts
    968
    Not working for me, after searching it comes back: Google Maps can't connect

  7. #37
    Gmandese's Avatar
    Gmandese no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11
    On my 8320, os 4.5.0.46, it installs and seems to work, but when I try to use the voice search, it says it can't connect!
    It this just not working, or is it a connection setting? I just upgraded to the 4.5 yesterday, but right here I have full EDGE and UMA. And I have my TCP set correctly.
    Last edited by Gmandese; 07-06-2008 at 11:46 AM.

  8. #38
    bcbbanga4l's Avatar
    bcbbanga4l no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac973e
    Posts
    1,265
    So it does work for the curve?

    Quote Originally Posted by lraed74 View Post
    The convenience key only works while your in Maps. Once out of the program, it still uses what I have programmed for mine.

    I downloaded from the following link on my 8320 4.5os and works fine.

    http://www.google.com/gmm/apps/v2.2....=en&noss=1

  9. #39
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    Is there any significant differences besides voice? I wonder why the pearl?~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #40
    bcbbanga4l's Avatar
    bcbbanga4l no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac973e
    Posts
    1,265
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I use it with my curve wow I like it awesome stuff

  11. #41
    fonixmunkee's Avatar
    fonixmunkee no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    4C51A6C0
    Posts
    6
    If your left side key doesn't work, I found this possible fix that seems to have worked for someone:

    https://groups.google.com/group/goog...1b773538149c13

    It didn't work for me, however...and I'm using an 8130 on VZW. Good luck to everyone else!

  12. #42
    uncleman's Avatar
    uncleman no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    317BC293
    Posts
    173
    I've tried everything above on my VZ 8130 w/ OS 4.3.0.127 and the left key voice thing still doesn't work.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •