Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Using a billion points of GPS and WiFi positioning data from the last few years ... Smartphone News forum

  1. #1
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Citysense Monitors San Francisco Real-Time Human Traffic

    Advertisement





    Using a billion points of GPS and WiFi positioning data from the last few years – plus real-time feeds – Citysense sees S.F. from above and puts the top live hotspots in your hand. You don't even need to sign up, just go to citysense.com on your BlackBerry, download, and open.

    Citysense is available in the city of San Francisco for alpha testing, and will eventually rollout to major metropolitan areas in the US and abroad.

    Supported BlackBerry devices:
    Pearl (models 8100, 8120, 8130), Gamma Ray (8800, 8820, 8830) and Curve (8300, 8310, 8320, 8330)

    [Read More]

    Update: Thanks hunterp101:

    I got a quick response and was pointed to the following link and was able to install with no issues. http://alpha.citysense.com/download.php

    I'll keep you posted on first thoughts.

  2. #2
    pniko_07's Avatar
    pniko_07 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    stack
    Posts
    912
    When I tried downloading, I kept getting a download failed message. Oh well, I don't really need to know what's going on in San Francisco anyway ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028
    Keeps saying my device is not supported.

    I don't need to know whats going on in San Fran, but it would be a pretty cool app to check out to get an idea of what it's going to look like when other cities roll out.

    If anyone happens to get a direct OTA download link to this, could you post it?

  4. #4
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    I hope something like this hits my city.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  5. #5
    midnite_tm's Avatar
    midnite_tm no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    PIN/ID
    306cf0dc
    Posts
    14
    Yeah, me too. I thought it was just my phone...
    PIN: 23E0A1C8

  6. #6
    karnage209's Avatar
    karnage209 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    40
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I get the message install failed. When I checked detail it says incorrect cod or something like that. This is a good program for me to use because I live in san francisco. Hope the bug is fixed soon.

  7. #7
    hunterp101's Avatar
    hunterp101 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    241F126D
    Posts
    22
    It's a great concept. But...........when I went to the web site to download the software it says:

    "We're sorry, but we do not currently support your device. We support the following phones at this time....."

    Listed amongst the phones supported in the Curve 8320. I own a Curve 8320.

    They need to get the application to recognize devices better before they even start a beta process. You can't test software of nobody can install it.

  8. #8
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    has anyone sent in a support ticket or tried to get in contact with the developer? on the download issues and the 'unsupported phone'?

  9. #9
    hunterp101's Avatar
    hunterp101 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    241F126D
    Posts
    22
    I sent an email so I'll keep you posted with any info I receive.

  10. #10
    hunterp101's Avatar
    hunterp101 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    241F126D
    Posts
    22
    I got a quick response and was pointed to the following link but was unable to install with no issues. http://alpha.citysense.com/download.php

    I got an error message during the install but I am still working with them to get it sorted. So far I have to say I am very impressed with the responsiveness of the developer.

    I'll keep you posted.
    Last edited by hunterp101; 06-10-2008 at 06:57 PM. Reason: New information

  11. #11
    alekgv's Avatar
    alekgv no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    243e866c
    Posts
    3

    same

    i got the same issue here. i get "907 invalid COD" error details after download.
    emailed them informing them of the error and linked them this thread

    Update: no reply yet.
    Last edited by alekgv; 06-10-2008 at 09:12 PM. Reason: Update on email

  12. #12
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    Quote Originally Posted by hunterp101 View Post
    I got a quick response and was pointed to the following link but was unable to install with no issues. http://alpha.citysense.com/download.php

    I got an error message during the install but I am still working with them to get it sorted. So far I have to say I am very impressed with the responsiveness of the developer.

    I'll keep you posted.
    hunter -- thanks for the communication! although i don't get to the city as often as i would like (hubby hates it ) would come in handy on the weekends when i do drive in

  13. #13
    data1025's Avatar
    data1025 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    338
    its working for me. just a bit slow to load the screens, even over wifi.

  14. #14
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028
    Quote Originally Posted by hunterp101 View Post
    I got a quick response and was pointed to the following link but was unable to install with no issues. http://alpha.citysense.com/download.php

    I got an error message during the install but I am still working with them to get it sorted. So far I have to say I am very impressed with the responsiveness of the developer.

    I'll keep you posted.
    By chance, where are you located? Is it checking GPS during download and not allowing anyone outside of that area to install it?

  15. #15
    alekgv's Avatar
    alekgv no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    243e866c
    Posts
    3

    update 2

    Quote Originally Posted by alekgv View Post
    i got the same issue here. i get "907 invalid COD" error details after download.
    emailed them informing them of the error and linked them this thread

    Update: no reply yet.
    Okay, they got back to me, they know about the issue but dont know why we're all having the problem:
    "Thanks for the heads up...I'm looking at this issue with Hunter, it's strange, tho'. I got a build that worked on a 4.5 ATT Curve with one user, but I'm not sure why we'd have problems in general with OS 4.5.

    We'll def. solve this for the pinstack gang! I'll let you know as soon as I can get anything definite."

    I replied asking them to post a zip file with the alx or to email it to me. I'll keep everyone posted here.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •