Results 1 to 7 of 7

I've noticed that my 8700c goes to a blank screen after just a few seconds ... 87xx Themes forum

  1. #1
    MikeKoplitz's Avatar
    MikeKoplitz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Question Screen times out

    Advertisement



    I've noticed that my 8700c goes to a blank screen after just a few seconds (like 5) even though the backlight setting is set for much longer time. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    likefre's Avatar
    likefre no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    870

    Re: Screen times out

    Welcome to the stacks MikeKoplitz!...I would set a different setting - save - battery pull - and change it to your desired time...let us know how it goes

  3. #3
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: Screen times out

    Options - Screen/Keyboard, Backlight Timeout. It can be set from 10 Sec up to 2 min.
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  4. #4
    jestock's Avatar
    jestock no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Screen times out

    Quote Originally Posted by melissaox
    Options - Screen/Keyboard, Backlight Timeout. It can be set from 10 Sec up to 2 min.
    I have the same problem as Mike... you can set the screen time out option to anything and it will hold that option for awhile... however after some time it reverts back to timing out at 5 seconds (which isn't even an option)

  5. #5
    mikadad's Avatar
    mikadad no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    1,159

    Re: Screen times out

    there is an free app called BBlight that will help adjust this espcially when its being charged or used.

    http://downloads.sourceforge.net/bla...6&big_mirror=0
    Michael


  6. #6
    reesemachine's Avatar
    reesemachine no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    63

    Re: Screen times out

    Do you have the 4.1 OS (esp 4.1.0.377) ? (Options - About or CTRL+CAP+H)

    This is something a lot of our users complain about. Not sure if it is an "official" bug, but here's what fixes it (workaround):

    1. Go to Options - Screen Keyboard
    2. Scroll to Automatic Backlight. Change from "On" to "Off"
    3. Change Backlight Timeout to preferred time (2 min max).

    This has worked every time. One note, though....if you power down the device or reset it (yes, even the auto on/off) we've noticed that it puts the screen timeout back to a few seconds...even if you already changed it to 2 min.

    To remedy, just follow steps 1-3 again. It's not as much of a pain as you'd think

    OR...just get BBLight (unless, like us, you're on a BES IT policy that restricts installing 3rd party apps -- and you don't feel like going through the process to *cough, be careful* temporarily remove that policy then re-activate the device on BES *cough, can get you into major trouble, cough*

  7. #7
    jestock's Avatar
    jestock no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Screen times out

    Yes I have OS 4.1.0.377.... ... it seems to be working but as I said it can refert at any minute... I don't usually ever turn it off tho so shouldn't be a big problem. I'd prefer to stay away from that nasty cold of yours...
    Thanks for the advise...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •