Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

hi everyone, i have a question regarding an error im receiving on my pearl when ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    bbpearlrox's Avatar
    bbpearlrox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    129

    Yahoo Messenger Error

    Advertisement



    hi everyone, i have a question regarding an error im receiving on my pearl when using yahoo messenger.

    okay first i downloaded yahoo messenger and signed onto it which was successful.

    then i went onto my PC where i have msn hotmail, and added my pearl yahoo email in inorder to add the contact.

    once i did that, it shows that my yahoo messenger is "offline" even though im still signed on, on my phone.

    when i send a IM message to my Yahoo Messenger, i receive a SystemAdmin message stating:
    "your contact is using windows live (MSN) Messenger, and wants to add you to his or her Messenger list. TO start sharing instant messages, you'll first need to get the latest yahoo! messenger with voice at: http://messenger.yahoo.com/download.php

    when i go to this link on my phone, i get an error stating:
    "unsupported media type:application/octect-stream"

    i believe this is due to the "voice messenging" that is tied in with this messenger they want me to download.

    is there a fix to this? i would like to use this so that it does not charge me for SMS text but rather for my Data plan as i added it to my plan.

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    not sure why you are getting the error.
    have you tried ramble? since its free? or IM+
    they both use data and won't charge IF you have the unlimited data plan.

  3. #3
    bbpearlrox's Avatar
    bbpearlrox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    129

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    someone please help!?

    when i tried to send a text IM to my yahoo blackberry, it said it would be in a form of an Offline Message. so when i log back onto yahoo, i would receive it.

    well, i logged off for a while on my bb, and logged back on, and about 10 minutes later, i finally got the message. but why aren't i shown as online on my hotmail msn messenger on my computer? as it says im "offline" on yahoo messenger?!!!

  4. #4
    bbpearlrox's Avatar
    bbpearlrox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    129

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    hi, i read through the forums that IM+ costs $49.99?!? is that something else? do you have a link to this IM+ that is free?

  5. #5
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    IM+ isn't free...which is probably why it runs almost seemlessly. i have never had any problems.
    Ramble is free...you can try that.
    I personally have never used the YIM client for my Pearl because I can get all the clients into one with IM+

  6. #6
    bbpearlrox's Avatar
    bbpearlrox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    129

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    does ramble only support AIM?

  7. #7
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    yes i apologize. i thought that IM+ and Ramble were comparable...sorry.
    so it was working before or this is a new issue?
    i guess first, i would try a cold reboot (take battery out while phone is on, wait 30 seconds, place battery back in device and wait for it to reboot) then try sending again.

  8. #8
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    Quote Originally Posted by bbpearlrox
    hi, i read through the forums that IM+ costs $49.99?!? is that something else? do you have a link to this IM+ that is free?
    7 day trial to decide if you want to spend the $ on it, plus all future upgrades are free...don't see where you can go wrong...

    http://shapeservices.com/en/products...im&platform=bb

    Make sure you go to the Download/Try and choose the download for the PEARL and not for 4.1 OS devices.

  9. #9
    bbpearlrox's Avatar
    bbpearlrox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    129

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Hi. No it hasn't worked before. I did the cold reboot and I'm still having this issue. It shows that my yahoo messenger is not on, yet it is logged on on my phone

  10. #10
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    Quote Originally Posted by bbpearlrox
    when i send a IM message to my Yahoo Messenger, i receive a SystemAdmin message stating:
    "your contact is using windows live (MSN) Messenger, and wants to add you to his or her Messenger list. TO start sharing instant messages, you'll first need to get the latest yahoo! messenger with voice at: http://messenger.yahoo.com/download.php
    I get this all the time and just close it... Lemme ask you something are you using the OZ yahoo... or the one from mobile.blackberry.com? The one from mobile.blackberry.com uses data not sms so you won't get a big surprise on the bill

  11. #11
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    I don't think you can be logged it to Yahoo Messenger on the same account from to devices (PC and BB) at the same time. Is this what you are trying to do?

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  12. #12
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    Definitely cant be on two at the same time, I always get the message, "you have been signed on from a different location".

  13. #13
    phantomhu's Avatar
    phantomhu no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    I guess this is not application problem, no matter which ones you are using blackberry one/ramble/IM+ ... you will get the same message.

    so.... msn or yahoo has to do something on their sides to allow pc msn to talk to bb y! , vise versa

    so... now you have to live with it.

  14. #14
    mullero's Avatar
    mullero no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    20

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    hello all,

    why do i get error 503 when i try to download yahoo messenger from www.mobile.blackberry.com

  15. #15
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Yahoo Messenger Error

    If you have AT&T they won't let you have it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •