Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

If I choose to wipe my handheld on my Pearl what will happen? I can't ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    BamaFan2989's Avatar
    BamaFan2989 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask :)
    Posts
    346

    Wipe Handheld?

    Advertisement



    If I choose to wipe my handheld on my Pearl what will happen?

    I can't upgrade the OS because I have no drivers, so what happens if I wipe it?

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    Bama,

    Please tell us what you are trying to accomplish....

    The wipe function returns your phone to factory settings and will clear your contacts, messages, calendar, etc.

    What drivers do you beleive you dont have to upgrade your OS?
    Last edited by GaryF; 08-17-2007 at 05:21 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    BamaFan2989's Avatar
    BamaFan2989 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask :)
    Posts
    346

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    I don't have the drivers to plug my blackberry into usb. I have tried windows update and all kinds of desktop managers. I am running vista. I might wipe it.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    ohhh...Vista.....:cry: ...so you cannot use your desktop manager?

    Tell me why you want to wipe your phone?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    Yea Vista sucks...sorry but hopefully this link will help

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ger_vista.html

  6. #6
    BamaFan2989's Avatar
    BamaFan2989 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask :)
    Posts
    346

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    i was wanting to wipe it to hopefully be able to use desktop manager...

    i already wiped it...

    it didnt really do anything to it haha...

    but i want to be able to get some songs onto my phone, so i bought a bluetooth adapter for my computer and i cant get it to work...

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    Bama....

    It seems that yours is a common problem - what DM version are you using? I saw at least one post that suggested 4.2 sp1.

    Are you using an SD card? If so set the card to enable mass storage and you can access it from your desktop without the DM running to transfer music. If not I suggest that you go shopping as the memory on the phone will fil pretty quickly anyway
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    BamaFan2989's Avatar
    BamaFan2989 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask :)
    Posts
    346

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    i am using a microsd card...

  9. #9
    BamaFan2989's Avatar
    BamaFan2989 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask :)
    Posts
    346

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    but since i have no drivers or something, the microsd doesnt show up as a drive

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    Check you settings under Options- Advanced - Media Card
    Is support set to ON and mass storage mode marked YES?

    If so your computer should see the SD card as a removable device - I guess this could also be a Vista issue but I doubt it - I don't actually think this requires any drivers.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    skunk22civic's Avatar
    skunk22civic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2408989b
    Posts
    200

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i had the same problem, I went back to XP till they fix vista.

  12. #12
    BamaFan2989's Avatar
    BamaFan2989 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask :)
    Posts
    346

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    i am making some headway now...

    that usb bluetooth i bought for my pc let me connect to DM :]]]

    now i just need to reinstall it so i will have roxio, cause that was non roxio version... i will update in a bit.

  13. #13
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    Great news! Keep us updated here - you may have found a new work around for the Vista issues!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  14. #14
    BamaFan2989's Avatar
    BamaFan2989 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask :)
    Posts
    346

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    awww...

    media manager requires an usb connection...

    idk how to get around this hahaha... :[[ i am gonna keep trying stuff...

    anyone have any suggestions?

  15. #15
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Wipe Handheld?

    Have you been able to access your sd card? If so you can work around media manager. Post back if you need more info.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •